2020 - Junior A Hurling - Jamsey Kelleher Cup

Lisgoold (0 - 17) VS Carraig na bhFear (0 - 11)
Date Sunday 13 September 2020
Time 14.30
Venue Midleton
Referee Willie Wallis
Competition Junior A Hurling Hurling Championship
Round 7
  Jamsey Kelleher Cup

Kieran Murphy CRY104fm Match Report

Lisgoold deliver their first Jamesey Kelleher Cup following epic second half surge

It was well and truly Lisgoolds day under the sun at the home of Midleton GAA. The boys in blue and gold sealed the deal on a historic first Jamesey Kelleher Cup their clubs history with a mesmerising victory over a seasoned Carraig Na bhFear side. In a year already jam packed with firsts, Lisgoold have put the cherry on top, lifting East Corks flagship competition on a score of 0-17-0-11. In what was a low scoring game of hurling compared to the barn storming standard that we have become accustomed with, the high octane, end to end action kept everyone on the edge of their seats. 

In the opening half the game was level on six occasions, with no lead greater than one point. Both teams matched each other stride for stride, blow for blow. The fluidity of Lisgoolds attack was noticeable from the get go. Liam O’Shea, Mark Hegarty and Caolan O’Brien all registered scores for the eventual champions. This year really has marked the shift in the talisman department for the boys in blue and gold. Liam O’Shea has taken the reigns as main man and has shouldered much more of the attacking responsibility. The Cork underage starlet split the posts four times in the first half, standing out as the go to man. His increased role has taken much of the offensive pressure off John Cashman who can now free foam and focus on creating his own openings, rather than being the pivotal attacking cog for Lisgoold. Mark Hegarty also stood out. The 18 year old picked up two points in the opening phase. Brian Sheehan and Paul Murphy both notched 0-2 in the opening half for Carraig Na bhFear. At half time, Lisgoold led 0-7-0-6. It looked like the game would come down to wire as headed into the second phase however surprisingly that was not the case.

John Cashman emerged to the forefront in the second half which directly correlated with Lisgoolds increased success on the attacking front. He was a constant danger across the forward line, collecting a rake of ball and creating a number of chances for the first time finalists. The opening fifteen minutes of the second were the deciding factor. The side chasing their inaugural Jamesey Kelleher Cup leathered over 0-6 compared to Carraig Na bhFears 0-2 in the period. O’Shea, Jack Ryan, Hegarty and Cashman all got on the scoresheet. 

Following the second water break, the men in red and green improved vastly, however it was still not enough. John Cronin dominated on the defensive side, proving why he is a pivotal piece of the Imokilly machine which raced to three senior titles on the bounce. Three quick fire points in five minutes gave last years runners up hope, reducing the deficit to three however the young core of Lisgoold showed an abundance of experience as they closed out the game. Liam O’Shea, Kieran Cashman and Mark Hegarty signed off on an inspirational second half performance for the boys in blue and gold. 

On the first time of asking, the Lisgoold men delivered Jamesey Kelleher back to Páirc Lios gCúl, with their blend of youth and experience to thank. It’s rare when a side get the mix bang on and well this Lisgoold side have done just that. John Cronin, Kieran Cashman and John Cashman offer a wealth of experience and know-how at this level while Liam O’Shea, Cathal Hickey and Declan O’Brien among others offer a quick attacking brand of hurling which is just majestic to watch. They move forward to the county championship where without question they’ll represent East Cork with the same passion, desire and grit which they showed en route to their first ever Jamesey Kelleher Cup Final. It finished at Clonmult Memorial Park, Lisgoold 0-17-0-11 Carraig Na bhFear.

Lisgoold scorers; L O’Shea 0-8 (0-4 f), M Hegarty 0-3, J Ryan 0-2, J O’Driscoll, C O’Brien, K Cashman, J Cashman 0-1 each.

Carraig na bhFear scorers; O Crowley, B Sheehan 0-3 each, J Walsh, B Murphy, P Sheehan, P Murphy, J Forde 0-1 each.

see  at https://kieranmurphysports.home.blog/2020/09/13/lisgoold-deliver-their-first-jamesy-kelleher-cup-following-epic-second-half-surge/