2020 - Junior A Hurling - Jamsey Kelleher Cup

Lisgoold (2 - 20) VS St Itas (3 - 11)
Date Sunday 30 August 2020
Time 14.00
Venue Shanagarry
Referee Brian Murphy
Competition Junior A Hurling Hurling Championship
Round 6
  Jamsey Kelleher Cup

Derek KielyMatch Report

LISGOOLD will get their chance to win that ever elusive Jamesey Kelleher Cup following their East Cork Oil JAHC semi-final win over St. Ita’s with a master class from Liam O’Shea who cut over three side line balls in his sides march to their first ever decider.

There was a doubt over Seamie Harnedy’s fitness but he played and Ita’s were glad of him as he levelled following a point from the excellent O’Shea.

Then O’Shea responded himself with a point from play and a placed ball effort to see Lisgoold lead by two points halfway through the opening quarter.

Two minutes later and Harnedy showed his class yet again fielding a long ball, then turned and despatched the ball into the Lisgoold net from a tight angle for the lead.

John Cashman was on target twice for Lisgoold before another Harnedy score but over the next seven minutes Lisgoold rattled off four unanswered points and a great goal from Mark Hegarty to lead by seven points on the 23rd minute.

Paudie O’Brien pointed a free for Ita’s but three late white flags from Lisgoold, two from Liam O’Shea and a point from Caolan O’Brien left Lisgoold ahead by eight points at the break.

Ita’s started to eat into that eight point deficit on the resumption with O’Brien pointing and another Harnedy goal and despite some responses from Lisgoold a long ball in from Ciaran O’Brien deceived everyone including the Lisgoold keeper at the end of the third quarter the sides were level.

It was Liam O’Shea who restored the three point advantage for Lisgoold with a goal on the 48th minute and seconds later Ita’s were awarded a penalty and O’Brien’s effort was brilliantly saved by Kieran Cronin and that was a major turning point in the match.

Lisgoold cruised the last ten minutes which included four O’Shea points and now they face Carraig Na bhFear in the final.

Scorers for Lisgoold: L O’Shea 1-12 (9f, 1 ‘65’) M Hegarty 1-0, D O’Brien and J Cashman 0-3 each, J Ryan and C O’Brien 0-1 each.

St. Ita’s: S Harnedy 2-3 (2f) P O’Brien 0-8 (7f, 1 ‘65’) D O’Brien 1-0

LISGOOLD: K Cronin; C Healy, C Cashman, C O’Shea; K Cashman, C Hickey, J Cronin (Cpt); L Walsh, C Scannell; J Ryan, L O’Shea, D O’Brien; C O’Brien, J Cashman, M Hegarty.

Subs: J O’Driscoll for M Hegarty (35)

ST. ITA’S: D Meade; F Foley, B McCarthy, M Cunningham; B O’Neill, D O’Brien (Cpt) M Coleman; C O’Brien, M Lillis, C Deane; S Harnedy, D Hickey; P O’Brien, E Coleman, E Loughnan.

Subs: D O’Rourke for E Loughnan (38)K Lee for D Hickey (42)

Referee: Brian Murphy (Carrigtwohill)