2019 - J B Hurling Championship - Eamonn Fleming Cup

Aghada (5 - 12) VS Youghal (0 - 13)
Date Sunday 29 September 2019
Time 14.30
Venue Dungourney
Referee Arthur Murphy
Competition J B Hurling Championship Hurling Championship
Round 7
  Eamonn Fleming Cup

https://kieranmurphysports.home.blogMatch Report

Three goals in four minutes secures JBHC crown for Aghada

Richie Condon proudly lifted the Eamonn Fleming Cup for Aghada, as the men in green and white raced to a thrilling victory in Jamesy Kelleher Park against Youghal on a score of 5-12-0-13. Three goals in four second half minutes from Jamie O’Hanlon, John Connolly and Mathew Leahy secured the East Cork Junior B Hurling championship title.

Aghada made a blistering start to proceeding outscoring Youghal 1-5-0-1 in the opening quarter. Dion O’Donoghue notched Youghal’s solidarity point in the opening period. For the side in green and white Ger Melvin and Mathew Leahy scored two each while John Connolly also opened his account for the day. The first goal came courtesy of a superb long ball from centre back Tom O’Neill which was met by Matthew O’Connor who flicked it off the hurley into the back of the Youghal net.

Youghal made a great recovery during the following ten minutes of play scoring six points on the bounce. Full forward O’Donoghue scored three of those, while captain Jonathan Ormond also contributed two points in a brilliant fight back as they brought the deficit hack to a point.

However, it was Aghada who finished the half better scoring 1-4 in the final five minutes of play. All four points were from placed balls from Ger Melvin while the goal was scored by wing back Darragh Ryan who made a superb run before finishing past Youghal goalkeeper Eoin Coleman. At half time in the Junior B Hurling Championship Final Aghada were in the driving seat thanks to two key goals as they led Youghal 2-9-0-8.

Three goals in the third quarter of the game drove Aghada into a thirteen point lead with just fifteen minutes remaining. The first goal of the second half stemmed from a pass from wing back Ryan to centre forward Marcus Leahy who made a great run before having his shot well saved by Coleman however the first man to the ball was John Connolly who tapped home. The next goal came just three minutes later under similar circumstances as the score before it. The scorer of the first goal Matthew O’Connor has his effort saved however Mathew Leahy made no mistakes from the rebound. It was two goals in the space of a minute as Darragh Ryan dispossessed his man with a beautiful flick into the paw of Jamie O’Hanlon who used his unreal pace to get away from his marker and slot home for Aghada’s fifth goal! Youghal responded with two frees from Ormond and one score from Jack Monaghan. The puck outs of Kevin Hegarty were crucial to all five goals hitting the half forward (if not the full forward)with ease which caused Youghal all sorts of various problems.

The game slowed down somewhat in the final quarter, only producing three scores however the defence work by both sides was immense. In particular, the defensive work of Aghada was imperative as they prevented a late Youghal scoring surge which looked possible during phases of the final period. Chris Mangan and Jonathan Ormond put over Youghal’s points while Leahy notched Aghada’s final score. 

The great defensive work of Aghada was not exclusive to the final quarter, only allowing six points from play while scoring 5-5 from play themselves. There was many stunning performances for the side in green and white such as Brian Morrissey who was superb in center field in the opening half alongside Stephen O’Keeffe, who also deserves a huge mention, before dropping back to full back

Another star performer was Darragh Ryan at wing back made even more impressive considering he is only a minor. He kept his man scoreless while also grabbing a goal for himself and having a key role in two other goals. Definitely one for the future! The mix of youth and experience was perfect as they lifted the Éamonn Fleming cup.

It ended in the East Cork Junior B Hurling Championship Aghada 5-12-0-13 Youghal.