2009 - Minor C 12 a side H C -

Dromtarriffe (2 - 6) VS Cobh (4 - 11)
Date Friday 23 October 2009
Time 20.00
Venue Mourne Abbey
Competition Minor C 12 a side H C Hurling Championship
Round 11

Martin O'Brien Match Report

Cobh with a strong second half performance overcame the challenge of Dromtarriffe by double scores to take the Ulster Bank Co Minor “C” (12 a-side) Minor Hurling Championship crown which was played in Mourne Abbey on Friday night last.

In what was a closely contested opening half a point from Aidan O’Rourke gave Cobh an early advantage but Dromtarriffe fought back and with points from Danny Mullins and Patrick Murphy they took the lead. After an exchange of points between O’Rourke and Murphy Cobh made a major breakthrough when Derek Keaney broke through for a brace of goals to see his side lead 2-02 to 0-03 by the end of the opening quarter. Dromtarriffe realising the danger stepped up their performance and with solid displays coming from Shane McAuliffe, Aaron O’Halloran, Danny Mullane, Shane Collins, Darren O’Connor and Patrick Murphy they reduced the deficit with points from Murphy and Gavin O’Sullivan. As only three points now divided the sides Cobh again stepped up the pace of the game and with a hat-trick of well executed points from Gavin Fitzgerald they strengthened their position but al ate goal from Darren O’Connor threw Dromtarriffe a lifeline to go in at the break trailing 1-05 to 2-05.

On the resumption Dromtarriffe threw everything into attack but unfortunately for them the scores they needed never materialised as their opponents defence stood solid. Weathering the storm Cobh through the efforts of Kevin Doody, Conor Farrell and Darragh O’Keeffe in defence began to find another gear and with Adam McCarthy in midfield coming into his own their forward division in which Gavin Fitzgerald, Cian Spriggs and Derek Keaney were to shine began to receive more quality ball. The introduction of “super sub” Alan Busteed also began to pay dividends when in between a brace of points from Spriggs he found the net for their third goal to give them a 3-07 to 1-05 advantage by the 39th minute. Still taking the game to their opponents they were rewarded with some fine points from McCarthy and Spriggs and they virtually sealed their victory when Busteed struck for the second time to leave the scoreline read 4-10 to 1-05 as the game reached its final stage. In fairness to Dromtarriffe they did not throw in the towel and responded with a goal and a point from Darren O’Connor but the damage had already been done and with late points from Spriggs and Busteed Cobh eased themselves to a historic 4-12 to 2-06 victory.

After the game the cup was presented to the winning captain, Adam McCarthy, by Tom McAuliffe, “Development Officer” of the Cork Co Minor Board to the great delight of the Cobh supporters.

Scorers: Cobh Alan Busteed 2-01; Derek Keaney 2-00; Cian Spriggs 0-05;

Gavin Fitzgerald 0-03; Aidan O’Rourke 0-02, Adam

McCarthy 0-01.

Dromtarriffe Darren O’Connor 2-01; Patrick Murphy 0-03; Danny

Mullane 0-01; Gavin O’Sullivan 0-01.

Teams: Cobh Ed Walsh; Jamie Moynihan, Tony O’Donovan; Kevin

Doody, Conor Farrell, Darragh O’Keeffe; Adam McCarthy

(Capt); Aidan O’Rourke, Gavin Fitzgerald, Cian Spriggs;

Derek Keaney, John Flanagan.

Subs: Alan Busteed for John Flanagan

Alan O’Flynn for Aidan O’Rourke

Pat Buckley for Derek Keaney

Dromtarriffe Declan Cremin; Shane McAuliffe, Daniel O’Keeffe;

Hayden O’Connor, Aaron O’Halloran, Sean O’Callaghan;

Danny Mullane; Gavin O’Sullivan, Shane Collins, Patrick

Murphy; Darren O’Connor, Damien Crowley.

Referee: Frank Fitzpatrick (Clyda Rvs)