2020 - Junior A Football - Jim Ryan Cup

Carrigtwohill (0 - 9) VS Midleton (4 - 9)
Date Sunday 27 September 2020
Time 14.00
Venue Cobh
Referee Robert Whelan
Competition Junior A Football Football Championship
Round 7
  Jim Ryan Cup

Kieran Murphy CRY 104fmMatch Report

Four goals is the difference as Midleton secure Jim Ryan Cup

For the second time in three years, Midleton have brought home the Jim Ryan Cup after a dominant performance against near neighbours Carrigtwohill. The magpies had a firm grip hold on the game from the start and never let go. As the saying goes, goals win games and this Midleton side proved that beyond question. Goals from Sean O’Meara, Ian Kennefick and Eoin Moloney alongside an own goal from Jay Horgan proved vital as the men in black and white drove to a 4-9-0-9 victory in Cobh. 

The Magpies wasted very little time putting their stamp of authority on the encounter. Captain Eoin Moloney notched the opening goal of the affair after just five minutes of play. The goal stemmed from a 50/50 ball which was floated in between himself and the Carrigtwohill keeper Christopher Keegan. Moloney beat the Carrig number one in air, fisting the ball home. Unfortunately in the process of grabbing the all important first goal, Moloney suffered a head injury, ending his involvement in the final. Despite the injury, the impact the Midleton skipper made during his cameo was pivotal. 

The magpies second goal came on the cusp of half time. Garan Manleys shot deflected off Carrigtwohill man Jay Horgan into the back of net. At half time were in full control, leading the Jim Ryan Cup final 2-5-0-4. Notably all of Carrigtwohills four points in the half came from placed balls courtesy of Liam Gosnell. 

It was much of the same in the second phase as the magpies went through gears, putting on a masterclass in swift direct attacking football in doing so. Sean O’Meara landed a quick fire 1-1 while Cathal Gunning and Cormac Beausang both registered their solidarity points of the affair. The fourth and final goal came directly after the restart following the second water break. Ian Kennefick cut threw the Carrigtwohill defence like a hot knife threw butter before finishing into the top left hand corner of the net.

The 2018 champions closed out the game with ease, showing their wealth of experience in the championship minutes where games are won and lost. Cathal Gunning was named man of the match after a sensational performance however in truth the Midleton unit on a whole were just simply superb. The full back line of Cian Crowley, Aidan Ryan and Seanaidh Smyth only allowed 4 points from play during the entire encounter while the box to box performances of Like O’Farrell, Cathal Gunning and Seán O’Meara typified the well oiled unit which cruised to this years East Cork Junior A Football Championship Final. It finished in Cobh in the Jim Ryan Cup Final Midleton 4-9-0-9 Carrigtwohill. 

Midleton scorers: S O’Meara 1-1, E Moloney, I Kennefick, J Horgan OG 1-0, G Manley 0-3(0-1f) L O’Farrell 0-2, C Beausang 0-1(0-1f),C Gunning, C Daly 0-1.

Carrigtwohill scorers: L Gosnell 0-5(0-5f), D Rooney, C O’Mahony, O Baverstock, S Roche 0-1