2019 - J B Football Championship - Ml Boig O Colemain Cup

Ballinacurra (1 - 14) VS Bride Rovers (1 - 17)
Date Friday 06 September 2019
Time 18.45
Venue Dungourney
Referee Arthur Murphy
Competition J B Football Championship Football Championship
Round 7
  Ml Boig O Colemain Cup

Kieran Murphy Match Report

Bride Rovers have been crowned East Cork Junior B Football champions 2019, after besting the county champions Ballinacurra in a thrilling final 1-17-1-14. Rovers scored eight of the last nine scores to secure victory.

Last years runners up got a blistering start to the game scoring 1-3 in the opening five minutes to Ballinacurra’s one score. Corner forward Conleith Ryan scored the goal after a brilliant catch and run, slotting past Joseph Wyre in the Curra net. Ryan also notched a point in the opening five minutes while William Finnegan put over two scores. However, the goal would turn out to be Brides final score for twenty three long minutes as the villagers took over.

Ballinacurra scored six points on the bounce, to go into the lead for the first time in the encounter with twenty seven minutes of the game played. Bride Rovers also has a man sent off as Daniel Dooley was sent off for a second bookable offense. Midleton Senior hurlers James Nagle and Jake Hegarty both got their names on the score sheet while wing back Keelan Kennedy also got a score of his own. In the final knockings of the first half Bride Rovers scored two quickfire points courtesy of Patrick O’Flynn and Shane Walsh, as the sides went in level at the break 0-8-1-5.

There was nothing between the teams in the first and it was much of the same story at the beginning of the second. The villagers just had the edge after the first twenty minutes of the second half, outscoring Rovers 1-5-0-4, the goal coming from Killian Harty after he broke away from his marker just inside the 21 before slotting home. Joshua Deady, Kelvin Kruschel and Jake Hegarty got the points for Ballinacurra, while for Bride Thomas Murray, Conleith Ryan, Matthew Quinn and Conor Barry slotted the ball between the posts.

With ten minutes left to play of normal time remaining, Ballinacurra led 1-13-1-9 and looked in prime position to lift the East Cork title however Bride Rovers took control in the closing period. Conor Barry stood out from the pack, scoring four points while fellow wing forward Cian Hogan stood up adding a point of his own. Cork u20 star Brian Roche came off the bench and made his presence known scoring the point which leveled the game. Murray and Ryan also got one each. On the other hand Ballinacurra could only manage one score in the final ten minutes through Jake Hegarty. 

A superb final ten minutes for Bride Rovers  won them the close affair, avenging their defeat in last years final against Russell Rovers. Conleith Ryan and Conor Barry were the two standout players for the winning side. It finished in the East Cork Junior B Football Championship Bride Rovers 1-17-1-14 Ballinacurra.


Bride Rovers; Frank Hogan Tadhg O’Sullivan Liam Forde(c) Jason Pratt Daniel Dooley Shane O’Connor Thomas Murray Jordan Mannix Shane Walsh Cian Hogan Dj Cahill Conor Barry Patrick O’Flynn William Finnegan Conleith Ryan.

Substitutes; Griffin O Keeney Sullivan, Matthew Quinn, Brian Roche

Ballinacurra; Joseph Wyre Eoghan Hegarty Trevor Costigan Killian Lynch Gary Carty Damien Daly(c) Keelan Kennedy Shane Wiggins James Nagle Killian Harty Jake Hegarty Stephen O Brien Kelvin Kruschel Joshua Deady Glen Harty

Substitutes; Senan O’Connor, Michael Beecher


Bride Rovers scorers; Conleith Ryan 1-3, Conor Barry 0-5(0-4f), Thomas Murray 0-2, William Finnegan 0-2, Shane Walsh 0-1, Patrick O’Flynn 0-1, Matthew Quinn 0-1, Cian Hogan 0-1, Brian Roche 0-1.

Ballinacurra scorers; Jake Hegarty 0-6(0-2f,1 45), Killian Harty 1-1, James Nagle 0-3, Kelvin Kruschel 0-2, Joshua Deady 0-1, Keelan Kennedy 0-1.