Ballinacurra News

17 March, 2009

The A football team lost out to Midleton in the first round of the championship in a hard fought encounter in Killeagh by a score of 0-09 to 0-07. It was very much a game of two halves. Midleton with a stiff breeze behind them in the first half ran up 7pts without reply. It could have been worse but for a great stop by our keeper Alan Creedon after 10 minutes. Stephen Murphy did have a chance to score a goal after 23 minutes but pulled the ball just wide. Midleton also wasted a number of chances though which could have proved costly to them. In the second half our lads started to play better and move the ball around. 12 minutes into the second half the difference was halved as Kevin O'Brien scored his third point of the day to add to a very good score from John Mallon. The intensity started to build when Damian Daly and Kevin O'Brien added further scores. Brian Sigerson was a commanding figure at the back and he was being ably assisted by Denis McCarthy and Stephen Murphy. Two points seperated the sides going into the last 5 minutes but it was Midleton who managed the breakthrough score on 30 minutes. Kevin O'Brien did add one further point for the village but it was too little too late. We can and must look to push on if we begin from the off the next day out when we play Cobh in the losers round in a couple of weeks time.
TEAM: A. Creedon, D. McCarthy, B. Sigerson, T. Costigan, S. Murphy, D. Hurley, I. Cahill, J. Mallon (1pt), J. Healy, S. Costigan (Capt.), K. Harty, S. Richards, S. O'Brien, K. O'Brien (5pts), D. Daly (1pt).
SUBS: T. Richards, P. Twomey, G. Healy, T. O'Meara, R. Keohane, S. O'Leary, A. O'Donovan, D. O'Riordan.
No jackpot winner this week. Nos 14, 17, 20 & 21. Lucky dips to Carole Porter, Mick Walsh, Marie Duggan, Charles Scanlon & Eileen Smyth. New jackpot EUR 1,400. Next weeks draw in Colbert's Bar on 19/03/09.