Aghada GAA News

06 March, 2011

Sun 6th Mar

S F L Aghada 3-15 Na Piarsaigh 0-11

Our senior footballers had a great win last Sun 6th March in round two of the league. The game started even enough. Matt O’Connor opened the scoring which the City boys replied to.

Eoin Savage cut a swade through the na Piarsaigh defence to put Aghada ahead on the fifth minute. What happened next was a joy to see as Aghada surged forward, and a lovely pass from Russell found Brendan Flaherty who busted the net. Minutes later Flattery returned the complaint when he set up Russell for another major, which came from a great run by Kieran O’Connor.

By now Aghada were well on top, as the half backs ran forward at all opportunities. Tom O’Neill was on top form on the centre of the field. Shane Wall finished off a mighty move for the home side to go 2-3 to 0-1 as the first quarter finished.

A Piarsaigh point followed but this did not deter Aghada as the forwards found oceans of space inside. Aghada showed great foresight and precision kick passes to find the loose forward inside. A free by Matt O’Connor rebounded off the post and Flaherty reacted first and the game was over as a contest.

Aghada chased ever thing and never allowed the city boys into the game. John Paul having lost some of the ballast moved well at centre back and Aghada were never in trouble in the opening half. The Second period was a different affair as the city boys came out all guns blazing and had two points on the board before Matt O’Connor replied.

The city boys had most of the play now as Aghada struggled to get the fluency of the first half it was point for point as the city side outscored Aghada 7 points to 6 in the second half. To be fair it would be hard for any team to keep up the momentum of the first half, as it was the pace of the game never dropped but Aghada could never open the na Piarsaigh defence as they did with so much easy in the opening half. As time ran down Aghada got on top again but were guilty of poor shooting and decision making but over all a good day at the office.


Andy O’Donoghue Aidan O’Connell, Kieran O’Connor (0-1), John Wall, Shane Wall(0-1)l, J P O’Connor (0-1), Ronan Power, Tom O’Neill, Eoin Healy, Eoin Savage (0-2), Pearse O’Neill, Colm Power, Michael Russell (1-1), Brendan Flaherty (2-4), Matt O’Connor (0-4)

Subs used John Connelly for Healy 41st m. Brian Wall for John Wall (injured) 42nd m. Tony Wall (0-1) for Matt O’Connor 44th M. James Daly for Aidan O’Connell 50th M .

Sun 6th Mar

Minor Football league Aghada 1-10 Carrignavar 0-12

The same evening our Minors made the long journey to Carrignavar and came away with their first win of the campaign by the narrowest of margins. This was a very physical match resulting in two players from either side sent off after receiving two yellow cards each. William Leahy was in top form rattling off 1-3.


Jack Hayes, Gerard O’Brien, Michael Gilroy (0-1), James O’Leary, Conor O’Driscoll (0-2), Tim Hartnett, Evan Magee, William Leahy (1-3), David Rice (0-1), Michael McCarthy , Ryan O’Keeffe, Michael Burchill, Shane Bennett (0-1), Fergal Culligan Brian O’Byrne subs used Scott Coyle (0-2)for Ryan O’Keeffe (injured) John Burchill for Michael McCarthy, Shane O’Hanlon for Shane Bennett, Colm Murphy for Fergal Culligan, Sean Daly for Brian O’Byrne

Well Done to Pearse O’Neill who led Cork out on the field last Sunday week and became the first Aghada since Conor to Captain the cork footballers. Of course he led from the front scoring 5 points

Next Sun the Intermediate hurling league starts with Aghada travelling for a 12 noon game away to Aghabullogue

Well done to the Competitors who took part for Aghada Hurling and football and ladies Aghada Football in the Scór na bPáistí final held in Ovens last Sat night 26th Feb. winners were Christine Gilroy Solo Music Christine Moran Solo Singing and ballad group Luke O Connell Rosheen O Callaghan, Ciara Counihan, Christine Gilroy, and Christine Moran.

Winners in Question time were P J Meany James McDonald and Conor Cotter Aghada Won the best overall club in all three Scór competitions and joint winners with Carrignavar Please see the web site for up to date fixtures