Avondhu-Imokilly Division 1 Hurling League

25 January, 2011

The Avondhu-Imokilly Division 1 Hurling League

Sponsored by Cavanaghs of Fermoy

History was made tonight in Fermoy, where both the Avondhu and Imokilly Divisions came together to form the first ever Inter-Divisional Hurling League.

In attendance the clubs and the organising committee, Avondhu Chairman Christy Morrissey, East Cork Board Chairman Michael O’Brien representing East Cork Board Vice Chairman Richard Fitzgerald, Avondhu Secretary Denis Twomey, East Cork Board PRO Derek Kiely, Avondhu PRO Barry Aherne and East Cork Board Referee’s Administrator Tony Cody set the groundwork for this first ever venture into a league for the two Divisions by putting the proposals of the structure of the new league to the floor and to the representatives of the 18 teams involved.

The League has nine representatives from each Division and there will be two sections with nine teams in each.

Section one has 5 Imokilly Divisional sides and 4 Avondhu sides.

Section two has 5 Avondhu sides and 4 Imokilly Divisional sides.

Section 1

(IMK) Russell Rovers

(AVD) Newtownshandrum

(AVD) Ballyhooley

(IMK) Sarsfields

(IMK) Carrigtwohill

(AVD) Kildorrery

(AVD) Castletownroche

(IMK) Erin’s Own

(IMK) Castlemartyr

Section 2

(AVD) Charleville

(IMK) Carraig na bhFear

(IMK) Lisgoold

(AVD) Churchtown

(AVD) Ballygiblin

(IMK) Dungourney

(IMK) Midleton

(AVD) Shanballymore

(AVD) Buttevant

First Round of Games to be played by week ending March 20. (Home advantage to team on the left of each fixture)

First Round


Round 1

Russell Rovers v Newtownshandrum

Ballyhooley v Sarsfields

Carrigtwohill v Kildorrery

Castletownroche v Erin’s Own

Bye Castlemartyr


Round 1

Charleville v Carraig na bhFear

Lisgoold v Churchtown

Ballygiblin v Dungourney

Midleton v Shanballymore

Bye Buttevant

Second Round. Games to be completed by week ending March 27.

The Top two teams from each section go directly into the Avondhu-Imokilly League Division 1 Final, which will be played in Fermoy, no later than Sunday the 31st of July.

There will be further details on the East Cork GAA website www.eastcorkgaa.com