Fr. O’ Neill’s

16 February, 2009

East Cork Garryvoe Hotel Junior ‘A’ Football League

Fr. O’ Neill’s 1-9 Ballinacurra 1-5

Fr. O’ Neill’s captured their first brace of points in the 2009 Junior ’A’ Football League at the expense of Ballinacurra in round 2 of the East Cork Junior ‘A’ Football League at Ballinacurra on Sunday last.

Eoin Conway opened the scoring for O’ Neill’s when he raised the white flag in the opening few minutes. Tommy Lawton followed on a few minutes later with another point after which Killian Harty shocked the visitors with a goal. Kevin O’ Brien then added another point, but Shane Harrington added O’ Neill’s opening goal on the 15th minute. Shane added the next four points, one from a free to extend O’ Neill’s lead with Eoghan Mac contributing his opening score on the stroke of half time to leave the score 1-6 to 1-1 in O’ Neill’s favour.

Scores were hard to come by in the opening minutes of the second half as O’ Neill’s withstood an amount of pressure from a determined Ballinacurra side. However it was Shane Harrington who broke the deadlock on the 44th minute when with his back to the goal he kicked the ball over his head for a peach of a point. Kevin O’ Brien added two points from frees to close the gap but Tommy Lawton kicked his second point to maintain the status quo. A further point from the “village” side was countered by an alert Eoin Conway when he added another point while the final score went to the impressive Kevin O’ Brien from Ballinacurra when he pointed from close in.

Team: David Hyde, John Thomas Gould, John Terry, Niall Griffin, Robert O’ Donoghue, Shane Donnelly, Robert Hyde, Bryan McCarthy, Luke Swayne, Eoin Conway, Tommy Lawton, Eoghan McCarthy, Ml. Holand, Shane Harrington.

Subs used: Billy Murphy for L. Swayne, Gavin Foley for Ml. Holland, Ml. Pomphrett for John Thomas Gould, David Colbert for S. Harrington.

Ref. Barry Day (Aghada)