Congratulations to Erin's Own

23 July, 2010

Congratulations to Erin's Own on winning the inaugural County U21 BFC, beating Passage West in the final on a scoreline of 1-8 to 0-9 to lift the new Seán Ó Crualaoich Cup.

Erin’s Own 1-8 Passage West 0-9

Declan Barron reports from Pairc Ui Rinn
History was created on last Thursday night in Pairc Ui Rinn as Erin’s Own became the very first side to
win the “Sean Crowley Cup” as they captured the County U21”B” football title with a hard earned but
fully deserved victory over a gallant Passage West side captained by Cian McCarthy from Glanmire.
In the finish Erin’s Own were hanging on for dear life with corner back Chris Ryan making a fine block down to
keep their two point cushion intact after the East Cork champions were put under severe pressure in the closing
stages. That was in contrast to the opening half where Erin’s Own dominated proceedings but failed to avail of
early goal scoring chances.
Indeed Passage was lucky not to have conceded two early goals as they started very nervously. Alan Bowen
drew first blood for Erin’s Own with a fine point fro play but Shane Howard brought the sides level with his
first effort for Passage. Maurice Carroll and Brian McHugh were dominant for Erin’s Own in the opening
quarter, while their pressure finally paid off by way of a goal fisted home by Andrew Power to put Erin’s Own
in the driving seat as they led by 1-3 to 0-1 at the end of the first quarter. By half time Erin’s Own had increased
their advantage and led by 1-5 to 0-2 at the interval and were not in the least flattered by this advantage as they
missed some easy scores as well.
On the resumption it was a different matter as Passage West driven on by Cian McCarthy, began to get their
act together and show why they were so highly regarded coming into this final. A flurry of well taken points
by McCarthy and the Howard brother brought Passage to within two points with just ten minutes remaining as
Erin’s Own now had a battle for survival on their hands.
Good work by Cormac Dooley, Niall Fouhy, Jack Sheehan and Niall Scanlon in defence kept Erin’s Own in the
game as team captain Alan Bowen steadied the ship with a well taken free before Andrew Power came up with
another fisted score, this time a point, to give his side a little breathing space. They surely needed it as Passage
continued to give it their all with Mark Howard and Cian McCarthy cutting the advantage to just two points,
before Chris Ryan earned his keep by bringing off that late saving block that would have given Passage the title
but instead found its way to Caherlag as Erin’s Own prevailed to become the inaugural winners of the “Sean
Crowley Cup”.
Erin’s Own: A Power 1-1, A Bowen 0-4, M Carroll 0-2 and M Collins 0-1.
Passage West: S Howard 0-4, C McCarthy and M Howard 0-2 each and S Kind 0-1.
Erin’s Own: R O’Neill, C Ryan, C Dooley, N Fouhy, N Scanlon, J Sheehan, S Crowley, I O’Mahony, B
McHugh, A Power, M Carroll, C O’Callaghan, Cian O’Callaghan, A Bowen and M Collins. Sub used D
Passage West: R Kind, E Murphy, P Walsh, C Higgins, C Burke, E Fitzgerald, N McCarthy, S Kind, C
McCarthy, E Kennefick, M Howard, C O’Driscoll, J Burns, S Howard and G Carroll. Subs used R Higgins, S
Kenny and L O’Sullivan.
Referee: Donal Forde, Donoughmore.