Senior Hurling League Victory for Erin's Own

15 February, 2009

Erins Own 1.19 Midleton 0.13

Erins Own qualified for the quarter final of the 2008 Senior Hurling League and also secured the first points of the 2009 League with a comprehensive win over Midleton at Carrigtwohill today. Midleton opened strongly and raced into a 4 point to 1 point lead after 10 minutes. Erins Own gradually settled into the game and led by 8 points to 7 at the break with points from Eoghan Murphy (4), Ian Quinlan (2) and 1 each from Diarmuid O’Flynn and Maurice O’Carroll.

Both sides exchanged points early in the 2nd half but midway through the half Erins Own upped the pace and spurred on by 2 long range points from frees by Shay Bowen increased their lead to 5 points before Maurice O’Carroll put the result beyond doubt with as cracking goal on 25 minutes. Alan Bowen had the final say with the score of the day when he caught a high ball turned and sent the ball over the bar from the sideline. Erins Own now play Sarsfields next Friday in Pairc Uí Rinn.

Kilian Murphy looked very sharp on his return from injury and Eoghan Murphy gave an exhibition of free taking scoring 8 points from frees on a day when Erins Own got their 2009 campaign off to a winning start. Overall this was a good team performance for the 1st hurling game of the year


Shay Bowen (0.02f), Cian O’Connor, Shane Murphy, Kilian Murphy, Stephen Clifford, Peter Kelly, Ronan O’Carroll, Kieran Murphy, Seán Kelly, Ian Quinlan (0.02), Diarmuid O’Flynn (0.01), Michael Murphy, Maurice O’Carroll (1.01), Eoghan Murphy (0.10 8f), Alan Bowen (0.03)