Erin's Own Notes

10 June, 2010

Erins Own 3-16 Newtownshandrum 3-13

Erins Own progressed to the fourth round of the County Senior Hurling Championship with a three point win over the reigning County Champions Newtownshandrum. This was a cracker of a game from start to finish - great scores, speed, excitement and was certainly a great advertisement for the game of hurling. Erins Own opened the scoring with a goal from Maurice O Carroll who finished to the net after a 21 yard free from Eoghan Murphy was saved. Newtown replied with a point and Stephen Cronin made it 1-1 to 0-1 before Shay Bowen was called upon to deny Jerry O Connor a goal with a great save as he raced though the defence. Newtown did manage two goals in the first half but Erins Own were taking their point opportunities with seven players sharing the scores. The sides were tied at 1-9 to 2-6 approaching the break but Eoghan Murphy regained the lead for Erins with a pointed free. A minute Later Erins own were four points to the good when Eoghan Murphy coverted a penalty won by the impressive Alan Bowen. Both sides exchanged further points to leave the halftime score 2-11 to 2-1.

Erins Own now facing the strong breeze conceded the 1st score of the second half but then hit a purple patch as Seanie Kelly and Colm Coakley who had a marvellous second half put over two points. Then man of the match Maurice O Carroll scored a brilliant goal whipping a ground shot to the net to put Erins Own eight points up. The Champions however refused to die and scored the next four points to set up a pulsating finish. Erins Own had enough in reserve and finished strong to close out the game. Hats off to the Management Team of Michael O Connor, Seánie O Leary and Timmy Kelleher and Physical Trainer Niall McIntyre as the team showed the fruit of their hard work which began last January. Well Done to all!!

Team; Shay Bowen, Paul Fenton, Patrick Fitzgerald Capt, Dáire Dennehy, Stephen Cronin(0-1), Brian McHugh, Shane Murphy, Kieran Murphy(0-1f), Brian Clifford, Seán Kelly(0-2), Maurice O Carroll(2-1), Mark O Connor(0-1), Colm Coakley(0-3), Eoghan Murphy(1-6 1-0 pen 0-5f), Alan Bowen(0-1). Subs Used; Peter Kelly for Brian McHugh(inj) and Killian Murphy for Brian Clifford

Golf Classic;

Our annual Golf Classic will be held in Cork Golf Club on Friday June 18th. Team of 3 costs €180. Please contact Michael on 086 2601136 for timesheet availability. We would also appreciate sponsorship for the event - contact Eoghan on 087 3285986.