Castlemartyr GAA Notes

07 June, 2010

Golf Classic 2010 Results

Castlemartyr GAA held their annual golf classic at a sunny East Cork

Golf Club on Thursday 27th May. As usual it was a well supported day

With around 40 teams participating and the results were as follows.

GUI Section:

1st Bord Gais Team, Jim O Reilly, Brendan Byrne, Thomas Aherne 71pts

2nd Kieran Foley, JJ Ferncombi, Harry Ferncombi 67pts

3rd Alice McSweeney, Ann Smyth, Bridget O Callaghan 66pts

4th Eileen Collins, Asumpta Fraser, Eileen McCarthy 65pts

5th Michael Walsh, Bernard O Sullivan, John Bernard 64pts

6th Gerard Gleeson, Frank O Shea, John O Shea 63pts

Non GUI Section

1st Youghal Garda team Peter Quelly, Damien Ring, Darren Feehan 59pts

2nd Vivian Mackessy, Shane O Dwyer, Des Foley 59pts

3rd Carey Joyce, Eamon Murphy, Tom Kelly 58pts

4th Jim O Rourke, Johnny Morgan, Joe Stack 57pts

5th Frank Mullane, Martina Mullane, Alan O Keeffe 56pts

Nearest the pin: Bernard O Sullivan

Longest Drive: Eamon Murphy

Pic: The winning Bord Gais team receiving their prizes with CEO John Mullins and Castlemartyr's Mick Carroll and Christy O Sullivan.

JBHL Div 3: Mon 31, May 10:

Castlemartyr.................. 0-11

Castlelyons..................... 1-04

Castlemartyr collected their first set of league points for the season

with a win at home to Castlelyons on Monday night last. With weather

conditions very poor for hurling it was never going to be a classic

but Castlemartyr stuck to their task well over the hour to take the


Castlemartyr led by by 6 points at the break. With good points from

Killian Abernethy, Damien McAuliffe Colin Bowens Castlemartyr were

the happier team at half time.

Castlelyons upped their effort in the 2nd half and were rewarded with

a goal which brought them right back into the game. However

Castlemartyr raised their game again in the last quarter with Ger

Swayne scoring a fine point and winning some hard earned frees.

Best for Castlemartyr on the night was Dwane Bernard who had a stormed

from wing back with John O’Donovan also very impressive on the other


Team: Colm O’Keeffe, Shane O’Donovan, Damien Roche, Chris Moran, Dwane

Bernard, Rob O’Donovan, John O’Donovan, Steve Collins, Damien

McAuliffe, Dessie Murphy, Mark Bowens, Colin Bowens, Peter Abernethy,

Tony Barrett, Killian Abernethy. Subs Used: Jason Barrett, Ger Swayne,

Kieran Collins.

JAHL Div 1



Castlemartyr made the long journey to Carrignavar on Saturday evening last the 5th of June, and most unusually came away from there with a brace of league points. This result now puts Castlemartyr into a league final against Erin’s Own, the only team thus far to inflict defeat on the Reds in the current league campaign

Focus will now shift to the opening round of the championship which will be played on Friday the 18th of June against St. Itas in Copperalley. The defence of Jamsey begins, and here’s hoping that last year’s heroics can be repeated. If you can remember back, last year’s league campaign was a dismal affair, with the Reds just avoiding relegation, but their championship form was completely different. Hopefully this year’s best hurling, will not have been played in the league.