Erin's Own Notes

16 May, 2010

Erins Own 0-11 Midleton 0-7

Erins Own needed extra time to see off the challenge of Midleton in the Junior Football Championship last night. In what was an exciting and tough encounter Erins Own deserved the win as they were the better team over the eighty minutes. Midleton opened the scoring with a point from play which was answered by a similar score from Alan Bowen after five minutes. Midleton aided by the stiff breeze then dominated the game for the next ten minutes and Erins Own were lucky not to have conceded three goals in this period. Ryan O Neill who was outstanding in goal throughout the game denied Midleton their 1st goal attempt with an excellent save and Midleton squandered two other glorious chances before Erins Own came to grips with the game. Erins Own settled and were creating chances of their own but poor shooting prevented them adding to their tally before half time but they were still in a good position at half time on a score of 0-6 to 0-1.

Erins Own introduced Killian Murphy and Andrew Power for the second half and moved Maurice O Carroll to midfield and from the throw in Erins Own were a much improved team. Diarmuid Ryng got the 1st of two great second half points early on and Maurice O Carroll capped an impressive second half display with two points to leave only a goal between the sides. Midleton were now struggling and even though their only point of the second half increased their lead to four points Erins Own continued to control the game. When Shane Murphy converted a free with five minutes remaining the lead was down to a minimum. We again wasted a few great scoring opportunities before Dáire Dennehy played a captains part and scored the equaliser to force extra time.

Erins Own continued their grip on the game and held Midleton scoreless in the two periods of extra time while we added four more points to our tally through Shane and Killian Murphy, Alan Bowen and Diarmuid Ryng. Along with the aforementioned players Erins Own also had excellent performances from Niall Scanlon and Patrick Fitzgerald in defence.

Team; Ryan O Neill, Paul Fenton, Ronan O Carroll, Dáire Dennehy(0-1) Capt, Niall Scanlon, Patrick Fitzgerald, Seán Crowley , Brian McHugh, Patrick Walshe, Maurice O Carroll(0-2) Alan Lane , Shane Murphy(0-2f), Diarmuid Ryng(0-3),Alan Bowen(0-2 ), Stephen Ahern. Subs Used; Killian Murphy(0-1). Andrew Power, Ronan Ahern.

Erins Own will hold their annual Golf Classic in Cork Golf Club On Friday June 18th at 7.30am. Team of three costs €180. Contact any Club Officer if interested in entering a team or providing sponsorship.