Imokilly 3-25 Seandún 0-5

01 May, 2010

Imokilly ran out comfortable victors over Seandun in the opening game of the Evening Echo Cork County Senior Hurling Championship in Riverstown tonight on a scoreline of 3-25 to 0-5.

Imokilly brush aside feeble Seandun challenge

Imokilly 3-24 Seandun 0-5

Declan Barron reports from Riverstown

A Seandun side that was completely out of their depth, offered only token resistance to Imokilly in the opening round of the Evening Echo Sponsored Cork senior hurling championship, played at the Sarsfields grounds in Riverstown on last Saturday night.

Apart from an equalising point from a Kevin Burke free, the City Divisional side Seandun, put up no showing whatsoever as Imokilly completely dominated the proceedings, with Pat O’Brien opening their account in the second minute. Stand in team captain Paddy O’Regan was on target twice from free’s before the impressive Seamus Harnedy had the opening goal for Imokilly in the 10th minute.

Once the goal went in Imokilly began to find their range and points from Pat O’Brien, Seamus Harnedy, Trevor O’Keeffe, Martin Hickey, Ronan Spillane and sub Brendan Ring had Imokilly in cruise control as they led by 1-11 to 0-1 at half time. The impressive Sean O’Leary and Noel O’Riordan shored up the way to goal as a poor Seandun forward division could make no impression on the Imokilly defence.

On the resumption the whitewash continued with Youghal’s Brendan Ring bundling home the second Imokilly goal, and while Seandun did manage to score four more points in the second half, they were no match for an Imokilly side that continued to score at will. All of the Imokilly forward division got on the scoresheet with impressive sub Paul Cashman landing the last three points of the match. Before that Bill Cooper had broken through for a superbly well taken third goal as Imokilly cruised to victory.

Ronan Dwane will be happy to have gotten the game under the belt but the challenge presented by Seandun was tissue like and Imokilly will surely be up against better opposition next time out. For now however it was job completed as the East Cork divisional side makes its debut in the 2010 season a winning one.

Imokilly: S Harnedy 1-4, B Ring 1-3, B Cooper 1-1, P O’Regan 0-4, P Murphy 0-3, P O’Brien and T O’Keeffe 0-2 each, B Lawton, L Sexton, R Spillane, B Smiddy and M Hickey 0-1 each.

Seandun: C McCarthy and K Foley 0-2 each and C Daly 0-1.

Imokilly: C Cronin, B O’Tuama, N O’Riordan, M Galvin, M Hickey, S O’Leary, S O’Keeffe, P O’Brien, P O’Regan, L Sexton, B Cooper, B Lawton, R Spillane, S Harnedy and T O’Keeffe. Subs used B Ring, B Smiddy, P Murphy, JP Ivors and M Wall.

Seandun: M Millane, S O’Gorman, R Higgins, D Murphy, D Howard, C McCarthy, J Cummins, K Brosnan, C Foley, K Foley, C Daly, D Burke, S Cunningham, D Murphy and E O’Sullivan.

Referee: Ken Healy, Ballymartle