Russell Rovers Report

07 April, 2010

    Report 05/04/10

    Erins Own 1-8 Russell Rovers 0-10

    After several postponements and three different venues, this Junior A football championship 1st round tie was eventually played in Carrigtwohill’s old pitch last Saturday evening with Rovers going down by the narrowest of margins in their first appearance in Junior A ranks since 1990. This was a most disappointing defeat and one which must have had our team mentors scratching their heads at the final whistle, wondering how we managed to lose a game that was there for the taking at half-time.

    Rovers opened the scoring with a pointed free from Barry Hartnett in the 3rd minute but then Erins Own took charge with four unanswered points over the next 15 minutes before John Ahern stopped the slide with a well-taken point off his left peg in the 18th minute. This was followed by three equally good points by Barry Hartnett, Kevin Hartnett and Barry Fitzgerald, all of which involved some excellent inter-passing play. Indeed, we were unlucky not to get a goal when Kevin Tattan slipped a neat pass across the face of the goalmouth but the extra pace on it just put it out of the reach of Paudie Higgins.

    Ahead by 0-5 to 0-4 at the break and turning over to play with the aid of a strong wind in the second period, we failed to push home our advantage. The Caherlag side seized control once again and inflicted serious damage in the opening ten minutes, notching up 1-3 without reply to go 5 points in front. Their goal came from a move which began with a stray Rovers pass at the other end though it must be said that our defence were also guilty of some slack marking. The loss of Anthony Walsh through injury was a major blow and the game now looked out of Rovers’ reach but to their credit they hit back with a good point by Kevin Tattan, who was surprisingly taken off later, and 4 points by Barry Hartnett, two of them beauties, while Erins Own added one more to their tally. We tried in vain to snatch a draw in injury time but when Ian Smiddy was harshly penalised for over-holding, our last chance had gone.

    We now meet Bride Rovers in the losers group which will be fixed shortly.

    Team: Michael Mannion; Brian Crowley, Seamus Kearney, John Paul Ivers; Anthony Walsh, Eoin Ivers, Anthony Archer (Capt); Derek Crowley, Colin Crowley; Barry Fitzgerald, Barry Hartnett, Padraig Higgins; Kevin Hartnett, Kevin Tattan, John Ahern.

    Subs: Kieran Ivers, Kevin Walsh, Ian Smiddy, Daniel Moynihan (all used), Joe Walsh, Alan Cott, Brendan Kearney, Chris Scanlon, Eoin McGrath, Aidan Beausang, Andrew Hartnett.


    P2 MHL: Russell Rovers v Eire Og in Ovens on Thursday, 8th April at 7 pm.

    JAFC Losers Round: Versus Bride Rovers on weekend 17th-18th April (Prov).