Erin's Own Notes

05 April, 2010

Erins Own 1-8 Russell Rovers 0-10

Erins Own advanced to the quarter final of the East Cork Junior A Football Championship with a hard earned one point win over Russell Rovers in Carrigtwohill last evening. With the elements to our backs in the 1st half we started well but wasted a few good scoring opportunities before Dáire Dennehy opened the scoring in the seventh minute with a fine point from play. Even though Russell Rovers cancelled out this score we settled well into the game and opened up a 0-4 to 0-1 lead with two points from Alan Bowen and one from Dáire Dennehy. We did not score for the final ten minutes of the half however as Russell Rovers were much the better team in this period and scored four unanswered points to lead 0-5 to 0-4 at half time.

A much more determined Erins Own team emerged from the dressing room after half time and again the excellent Dáire Dennehy got the 1st point of the half to level matters. With Kieran Murphy winning great ball at midfield and getting great assistance from Alan Lane on the forty our play improved greatly. Alan Lane put us in the lead with his first of two 2nd half points Diarmuid Ryng put us four up with a well taken goal after great work from Andrew Power. At 1-7 to 0-5 after 45 minutes we were in control but allowed Russell Rovers back into the game with three unanswered points and were living dangerously with a two point lead. Ian O Mahony restored our three point advantage with five minutes remaining . However we had to withstand a late Russell Rovers rally which yielded two further points and we were relieved to hear the final whistle. We will play the winners of the Aghada/Midleton in the quarter final.

Team; Ryan O Neill, Seán Kelly, Ronan O Carroll, Dáire Dennehy(0-3) Capt, Niall Scanlon, Patrick Fitzgerald, Joe Lyons, Kieran Murphy,Ian O Mahony(0-1),Colm Coakley, Alan Lane(0-2), Andrew Power, Diarmuid Ryng(1-0),Alan Bowen(0-2 1f), Stephen Ahern. Subs Used; Paul Fenton, Seán Crowley, Eoghan Murphy, Killian Murphy.

Erins Own 1-17 Blarney 1-9

Erins Own had a comfortable victory over Blarney in the Senior hurling league this evening. Erins Own played with the strong wind in the 1st half and led by 1-10 to 0-3 at the break, Kieran Murphy converting a penalty on the stroke of half time after Andrew Power was fouled.

Erins Own controlled the opening stages of the second half and built up a commanding lead before Blarney made an impact on the game midway through the half scoring 1-4 in a 10 minute spell. Erins Own however continued to score at ease and ran out easy winners. Our next league game is at home to St. Finbarrs on April 14th.

Team; Shay Bowen, Paul Fenton, Patrick Fitzgerald, Dáire Dennehy, Ian O Mahony, Jack Sheehan, Kilian Murphy, Séan Kelly(0-2), Mark Collins(0-5 4f), Colm Coakley, Kieran Murphy(1-1,1-0 pen), Mark O Connor(0-3), Andrew Power(0-1), Eoghan Murphy(0-3 2f), Alan Bowen.(0-2) Subs; Diarmuid O Flynn, Brian Clifford, Cormac Dooley.