Report on East Cork Board AGM on Wednesday 16.12.20

19 December, 2020

Report on East Cork Board AGM 2020. held on Wednesday 16 December 2020
The East Cork Board AGM was held last Wednesday night 16.12.20.  This was in a virtual setting through Teams Online.  Donal O Keeffe Cathaoirleach was at the helm and did a very good job while executive member Patrick Mulcahy assisted with the overall harmony in this digital information evening. There was a good attendance, and the meeting proved interesting as those online received top class accounts of the stewardship of the Division during 2020. Míle buíochas le Ms Tracey Kennedy, Chairperson, Pat Horgan, Development Officer and Ronan Dwane, Coaching Officer all of the Cork County Board all tuned in and participated. However, this virtual set up lacked the physical togetherness, exciting debates and eloquent interceptions that make up the productive communal setting of an East Cork Board AGM was missed. So, let there be no doubt when or if these tough times depart, we will be back in the communal style meetings for sure.

Michael O Brien, Runaí, read last year’s minutes and gave a very comprehensive report on 2020 with the highlights focusing on the Imokilly Senior Hurling team having won three counties in a row and 20 unbeaten games before going down to UCC earlier this year.  The Runaí outlined issues about the junior football championship as the round robin fell foul of the pandemic and it was a knockout won by Midleton.  He referenced the Counihan report and agreed that football needs a higher profile and commitment but that more must come from some clubs who see football as a backup when out of the hurling and called on everyone to raise the football profile. He congratulated Ms Tracey Kennedy who was completing three years as Chair of the County Board and wished her well in the future, also, Pat Horgan Midleton on being elected vice chairman of the County Board.  He referenced, in particular, the great work of the Clubs in such a difficult year and his fellow officers. He requested that we remember in our prayers all the deceased members from various clubs who passed to their eternal reward during the past year especially Iar-Uactaráin Derry O’Brien (Cobh).  

There were reports from: - 

  • Liam O Laochdha le Tuarascáil an Cultúr/Gaeilge. 
  • Iaróm Ó Bríain le Riarthóra na Réiteoirí.
  • Avril Bean Ui Ghadhra le Tuarascáil an Oifigeach Poiblíochta.
  • Ciarán Mac Cana le Tuarascáil in Cisteoir. 

Finally, we had Dónal Ó Caoimh agus Oráid an Chathaoirligh.

He reiterated many of the issues mention by the Runaí in relation to hurling, the defeat of Imokilly hurlers this year after winning three senior hurling titles in a row. 
Donal is a long-time member of the Lisgoold club he felt it was one of his greatest honours to present the Jamesey Kelleher Cup to the Lisgoold captain John Cronin.  This was a tremendous achievement for all involved in winning the East Cork Junior Hurling Championship. He thanked all the clubs in East Cork for their continued support and co-operation throughout the year. There are many requests made for pitches and players at various stages during the year and clubs were most accommodating. He thanked the referee for the years’ work and outlined the great work of Vice-Chairman/Referees Administrator Jerome O’Brien throughout the year.  He thanked his fellow officers and members of the executive for their work, especially for their attendance at gates and matches, an extra duty we found ourselves with due to the pandemic. 

He thanked Avril Geary, outgoing PRO but unable to continue due to work commitments. He thanked outgoing Runaí Michael O’ Brien and Cisteoir Kieran McGann for their work over the last five years and both elected back with Michael as Cisteoir and Kieran as PRO.  He thanked John O’Donoghue for many years of work on the CCC but was leaving this year. He regretted that the position of Runaí is still vacant for 2021 but the Executive hope to rectify this shortly. Finally, he paid an outstanding tribute to Tracey Kennedy outgoing Chairperson of Cork County Board of and congratulate her on her achievements over the past three years and congratulated Pat Horgan on being elected the incoming vice chairman of the County Board.  Donal concluded by wishing all a peaceful & safe Christmas and a happy New Year.


There were no motions down for discussion this year due to the advice from headquarters that we keep the meetings short dealing with essential matters only.  There was a brief discussion on continuity as Maurice Ahearn, Dungourney Club queried unbroken service on the Board such as moving from one position to another and if there was a rule on same. The discussion revealed that this occurs at Club, Divisional and County Board level.  It is interesting to note that the Secretary position on the Board is vacant at present.  While it is often difficult at times to get patrons to take up such roles its merits or otherwise can be further discussed by way of formal motion to next year’s meeting.

The following Officers were elected for 2021 
Uachtarán:  Liam Ó Rinn (Cluain Uamha)
Iar-Uactaráin:  Seán Ó hAonghusa (Mainistir na Corann). 
Leas-Uactaráin:  Diarmuid Ó Súilleabháin (Cluain Uamha), Gearóid Ó Laighin (Fánuithe na Bríde), Donnacha Ó Muirthle (Na Sairséiligh), Micheál Ó Briain (Áth Fhada), Risteard MacGearailt (Fánaithe na Ruiséalaigh) 
Cathaoirleach:  Dónal Ó Caoimh (Lios gCúl). 
Leas-Chathaoirleach:  Íarom Ó Briain (Cluain Uamha). 
Runaí: Tá sé folamh.
Cisteoir:  Michéal Ó Briain (Áth Fhada).
Oifigeach Poiblíochta:  Ciarán Mac Cana (Caisteán Uí Liatháin).
Oifigeach Cultúir:  Liam Ó Laochdha (Eochaill) 
Oifigeach Forbartha:  Risteard MacGearailt (Fánaithe na Ruiséalaigh)
Executive Members:  To be elected at first Bord Meeting.

Main Sponsors: East Cork Oil & Michael O Connor Motor Factors.