Russell Rovers Report

20 February, 2010

Russell Rovers GAA

Bride Rovers 4-8 Russell Rovers 2-2

This long-awaited 2009 Junior B football championship final, which was played in Castlelyons last Saturday afternoon, will not live too long in the memory of Russell Rovers supporters after we were subjected to a first half drubbing by a far superior side. The game was hardly 30 seconds old when Bride Rovers swept down field from the throw-in and billowed the roof of Mike Mannion’s net with an unstoppable shot. Unfortunately, this was only a taste of what was to follow as the Rathcormac side completely outplayed us in the opening half, racking up an unassailable tally of 4-7 while our only response was a well-taken goal by Paudie Higgins in the 25th minute – effectively, game, set and match.

To their credit, our lads didn’t throw in the towel and with the introduction of Kevin Hartnett, Kevin Walsh and Kevin Tattan, they took the game to their opponents, limiting them to just a single point in the second half while an excellent goal by Barry Hartnett and points from Kevin Walsh and Kevin Hartnett served to put some modicum of respectability on the scoreboard. However, it must be said that Bride Rovers probably took their foot off the gas a tad in this period but still managed to run out convincing winners by a margin of 12 points.

Even allowing for the fact that Bride Rovers had a good number of A-Grade players who were eligible to play Junior B, this was still a comprehensive defeat and one would have to question our decision to upgrade to Junior A this year because on the evidence of this display we have some way to go before we can rightfully take our place at the top table.

Team: Mike Mannion; Anthony Walsh, Derek Crowley, Barry Fitzgerald; Seamus Kearney, Anthony Archer (Capt), James Furlong; Colin Crowley, John Paul Ivers; Padraig Higgins, Barry Hartnett, Daniel Moynihan; John Ahern, Eoin Ivers, Brian Hartnett.

Subs: Kevin Hartnett, Kevin Walsh, Kevin Tattan, Brian Crowley, Tadgh Crowley (all used), Joe Walsh, Aidan Beausang, Ian Smiddy, James Ahern, Brendan Kearney, Alan Cott, Andrew Hartnett, Eoin McGrath, David Whelehan, Paul Lane.


JFL Div 2: Russell Rovers v Glanmire in Sarsfields Court on 27/2/10 at 4 pm.