Russell Rovers Make Munster Final

17 November, 2019

Luke Duggan Murray steals the show as Russell Rovers book their slot in the Munster Final

Russell Rovers have sealed their slot in their first ever Munster Club Championship Final. The men from Shanagarry toppled the Kerry Intermediate Champions Kilgarvan on a score of 2-21-1-11. Luke Duggan Murray turned in a superb performance at Fitzgerald Stadium, scoring 2-3 from play! He was the centerpiece of a free flowing Rovers attack. After the game I caught up with Rovers star man“It’s amazing, these are the days you grow up dreaming of playing in with your home club in stadiums like this.” 

Russell Rovers enjoyed a great start to proceedings, reeling off three scores on the bounce through Duggan Murray, Daniel Moynihan and Kieran Walsh. Sean Godfrey opened Kilgarvan’s account for the game after eight minutes of play. Seconds later, they had their second point courtesy of Kerry Senior Footballer Donal O’Sullivan. O’Sullivan wasn’t done there. A minute later, the ball was in the back of the Rovers net after a clinical finish from close range, scored by the Kerry footballer. 

With ten minutes of the clock, the side in red and white led 1-2-0-4. However, it was the team from East Cork which finished the half with a flurry. Rovers outscored their Kerry opposition 1-6-0-2, in the final twenty minutes. The goal stemmed from quick intercut between the forward line. Josh Beausang put a pin point pass across to Luke Duggan Murray who was in acres of space. The centre forward made no mistakes up against Kilgarvan keeper Flor O’Brien. Beausang’s exploits from frees was crucial to Rovers’ lead at the break, notching 0-4 in the opening half. Rovers went in at the break with a healthy lead, 1-10-1-4. 

Rovers burst out of the traps at the beginning of the second half like a greyhound at the Irish Derby. The team in gold and black put 1-4 on the board in the opening eleven minutes of the second half. It was Murray yet again with the goal after a great ball across from Brian Hartnett. However the side from Kerry weren’t going to lie down. Kilgarvan notched five scores on the bounce to reduce the deficit back to eight points. Donal O’Sullivan and Sean Godfrey both scored twice while Daniel Casey got himself on the score sheet. 

Despite Kilgarvan’s revival, Rovers closed out the game on top. The men from Shanagarry rolled off six points in the final ten minutes, four which came courtesy of full forward Josh Beausang.

It finished at Fitzgerald Stadium in the Munster Club Junior Hurling Championship QF Russell Rovers 2-21-1-11 Kilgarvan. Scores came from all across the field for the side in gold and black, with Rovers finishing with seven different scorers. Manager Michael Mannion commented after the victory “We can score from everywhere in the county final all our half forward line scored like Luke Duggan Murray today scored 2-3 from play, we have danger men everywhere”.Rovers now progress to the final due to the fact there is no Clare representative this season. 

Russell Rovers- R.Walsh K. O’Brien E.O’Sullivan P.Lane J.P Ivers J.Kennefick C.Ruddy K.Walsh K.Tattan D.Moynihan L. Duggan Murray J.McGrath B.Hartnett J.Beausang K.Moynihan

Substitutes; D.O’Brien(44) E.McGrath(47) K.Ivers(56) J.Ahern(56) D.Ruddy(58)

Kilgarvan- F.O’Brien G.O’Donovan P.O’Shea L.Twomey S.O’Sullivan J.M Foley C.Godfrey G.Fennessy J.Foley K.Harrington D.O’Sullivan R.O’Sullivan D.Casey S.Godfrey C.Shorthall

Substitutes; S.Casey(36) C.Cremin(46) 

Russell Rovers scorers; J.Beausang 0-11, L.Duggan Murray 2-3, K.Walsh 0-2, D.Moynihan 0-2, J.McGrath 0-1, B.Hartnett 0-1, J.Kennefick 0-1.

Kilgarvan scorers; D.O’Sullivan 1-5, S.Godfrey 0-4, D.Casey 0-2.