Russell Rovers GAA

11 February, 2019

Russell Rovers GAA Club


Russell Rovers  2-10   Glanmire  2-4


Our footballers opened their 2019 league campaign with a comfortable enough win over Glanmire in Shanagarry last Sunday morning.

Lining out without seven starters from the County final victory over Castletownbere last November, we still managed to field a reasonably good team but subs were a bit thin on the ground.

A very strong wind blowing into the scoreboard corner made life difficult for marksmen but Rovers still managed to rack up a decent score over the hour.


Playing with wind advantage in the opening half, Glanmire registered the first score in the 2nd minute with Brian Hartnett and Colman Quinlan replying for Rovers. In the 9th minute Rovers were awarded a free about 35 metres out and as Chris Ruddy stepped up to take it, the quick-thinking Josh Beausang raced into the empty space on the left to receive the pass and duly planted the ball in the net. Glanmire replied with a point immediately but we had to wait another 17 minutes for the next score – a well-taken Bud goal from an excellent, pinpoint crossfield pass by Josh. Glanmire completed the first half scoring with a well-struck 45 on the stroke of half-time to leave Rovers 2-2 to 0-3 ahead at the break.

A poor start to the second half saw us concede a penalty in the very first minute which Glanmire converted. Rovers took control of the game thereafter with a series of fine points from Kiaran Aherne, Josh Beausang, Paul Lane and three converted frees by Chris Ruddy. Glanmire finished the half as they had started with a goal in the 58th min but Rovers made the league points safe with two late scores from James Kennefick and Bud Hartnett, with Dan Moynihan and Josh providing the passes.


Aidan Beausang, Luke O’Riordan and the evergreen John Paul Ivers were solid in defence while Luke Murray worked his socks off before being substituted late on.

The team appears to have wintered well following their marvellous exploits last year and I think we can look forward to another exciting year ahead.

Team: Dan Ruddy; Aidan Beausang, David Whelehan, Luke O’Riordan; Daniel Moynihan, James Kennefick, Paul Lane; John Paul Ivers, Luke Duggan-Murray; Josh Beausang, Chris Ruddy, Brian Hartnett; Cormac Aherne, Colman Quinlan, Kiaran Aherne.

Subs: Kevin Moynihan and David Casey (both used).



JFL Div 3: versus Castlemartyr next Sunday, 17th February at 3pm in Shanagarry. Check locally for updates.

We have been drawn against Killeagh in the first round of the JAHC and against Castlelyons in the first round of the JAFC.


Well done to Josh Beausang on his scoring contribution with CIT in their recent Fitzgibbon Cup games against DCU (0-5), WIT (0-9) and Mary Immaculate College (0-7).


Also, well done to Kieran Ivers, James Walsh, James Moynihan, etc, for organising and running a very successful and enjoyable dinner-dance in Garryvoe Hotel on 25th January where four sets of medals were presented to the players for their outstanding achievements in 2018 by Guest of Honour, Derek McGrath of Waterford and also to Chris Ruddy for receiving Player of the Year Award which was decided on a vote by his fellow players.

Let’s hope we will have reason to hold another dinner-dance next year!