Imokilly Division News

14 December, 2017

Imokilly Divisional News by PRO Shane SuppleImokilly Divisional News by PRO Shane Supple

Imokilly held their Annual Convention in Castlelyons GAA Club on Wed 6th Dec last. At 7.30 to a large crowd in attendance, Con Lawlor on behalf of the Castlelyons GAA Club welcomed everyone to Castlelyons Hall for the Imokilly AGM. 

With that Chairman Richard Fitzgerald welcomed everyone to the meeting and officially opened the meeting. First order of business was our Minutes from our previous AGM held in Gortroe Hall last year, by Secretary Michael O Brien. Once the minutes were deemed in order he then proceed to give his Secretaries report for the year.

This was followed by the Treasurers report by Kieran McGann who gave a detailed breakdown of the figures for the past year. The
PRO Shane Supple gave a brief report of PR activities during the year and thanked all clubs and members of the Press and Media who worked so well with the Board during the year. 

Our outgoing Chairman Richard Fitzgerald then gave his Chairman's address in which he welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked every one for their support during his Term in office.

Once he had concluded then the presentatin of medals to the winning clubs during the Year took place. Please see below for a breakdown 
of the results and winning teams during the year for our football and hurling Championship and Leagues.

Once the medals were distrubited Imokilly President Willie Ring spoke to the members present outlining his gratitude to all present
and to the previous members who had held the position of President before him.

Our newly elected Chairman Donal O'Keeffe then took to the microphone and gave his thank you speech outlining his plans going forward and he to thanked the previous chairman for all his help along with all the delegates and members of the board.

Once he had concluded Ger Lane the outgoing Chairman of the Cork County Board spoke briefly about how well Imokilly had done in the year gone by and he thanked everyone for the support he had received during his term in office on the County Board and he wished all new board members in Imokilly every success going forward.A presentation was then made to Ger Lane by Richard Fitzgerald on behalf of Imokilly thanking him for his hard work. And the final act of the evening was a presentation to Richard from our Secretary Michael O Brien to thank him for his hard work on the board with the last number of years. When official proceedings had finished every one had tea and sandwiches and a social chat before heading home.

A big thank you to the Castlelyons club for providing these wonderful refreshments and the hall for our AGM.

Imokilly Board 2018
Uachtarán: Liam Ó Rinn (Cluain Uamha)
Iar-Uachtarán: Seán Ó hAonghusa (Mainistir na Corann) & Diarmuid Ó Briain (An Cóbh)
Leas- Uactatáin: Diarmuid Ó Súilleabháin (Cluain Uamha), Gearóid Ó Laighin (Fánuithe na Bríde), Donnacha Ó Muirthle (Na Sairséiligh)
                 Micheál Ó Briain (Áth Fhada) Risteard MacGearailt (Fánaithe na Ruiséalaigh)
Cathaoirleach: DÓnal Ó Caoimh (Lios gCúl)
Leas-Cathaoirleach: Íarom Ó Briain (Cluain Uamha)
Runaí: Micheál Ó Briain (Áth Fhada)
Cisteoir: Ciarán Mac Cana (Caisleán Uí Liatháin)
Oifigeach Poiblíochta: Shane Ó Súipéal ( Naomh Íde)

East Cork GAA 2017 Roll of Honour

Cork Senior Hurling Championship
Final: Sun 22nd Oct - Imokilly 3-13 vs Blackrock 0-18 
Winners: Imokilly
Runners up: Blackrock
2017 - I H C - Abernethy Cup
Final - Sat 2nd Dec Fr O'Neills 4-12 vs Castlelyons 3-5 
Winners: Fr O Neills
Runners up: Castlelyons
East Cork Oil Sponsored
2017 - JAHC - Jamesey Kelleher Cup
Final:Sat 9th Sept - St Catherines 1-12 V Russell Rovers 0-10 
Winners:St Catherines
Runners up:Russell Rovers

2017 - JBHC - Eamonn Fleming Cup
Final: Sun Oct 1st - Castlelyons 1-14 vs 2-23 Sarsfields 
Winners: Sarsfields
Runners up: Castlelyons

2017 - JCHC - Michael Foley Cup
Final:  Sat 26th Nov -Bride Rovers 2-17 v Cobh 3-19
Winners: Cobh
Runners up: Bride Rovers

2017 - U21 AHC - Ben Purcell Cup
Final:Sun 10th Sep -Castlelyons 4-15 vs Bride Rovers 3-11 
Winners: Castlelyons
Runners up: Bride Rovers

2017 - U21 BHC - Gerry O'Connell Cup 
Final:  Sat 17th Oct - Sarsfields 2-13 v Cobh 1-11
Runners up:Cobh
2017 - JHL Div 1 - Tom Powell Cup
Final:  Sun 12th Nov - Russell Rovers 3-19 v 3-16 Cobh
Winners:Russell Rovers
Runners up: Cobh 
Relegated:Carrigtwohill & Erins Own 

2017 - JHL Div 2 - Mossie O'Sullivan Cup 
Final: Sun 5th Nov - Bride Rovers 4-5 v Sarsfields 2-26 
Winners: Sarsfields
Runners up: Bride Rovers
Relegated: Ballinacurra & Youghal

2017 - JHL Div 3 - Owenacurra Cup
Final:  Sun 3rd Dec - Fr O Neills 0-1 v Cobh 0-0
Winners: Fr O Neills
Runners up: Cobh 
Ml O'Connor Motors Sponsored

2017 - JAFC - Jim Ryan Cup
Final:Sat 16th Sep - Erins Own 3-11 vs 1-5 Glenbower Rovers 
Winners:Erins Own 
Runners up:Glenbower Rovers

2017 - JBFC - Michael Boig Coleman Cup
Final:Sat 23rd Sep Final - Russell Rovers 2-1 vs 3-7 Cobh
Winners: Cobh
Runners up: Russell Rovers

2017 - JCFC 
Final:Mon 10th Jul - Glenville 1-11 vs Carraig na bhFear 2-6
Runners up:Carraig na bhFear

2017 - U21 A Football - Clonmult Memorial Cup
Final:Fri 31st Mar - Aghada 4-10 vs Fr. O'Neills 1-6 
Runners up:Fr. O'Neills

2017 - U21 B F C - Jack Murphy Cup
Final: Sat 06th May - Glenville 2-14 vs Glanmire 1-10
Runners up:Glanmire

2017 - U21 C F C -
Final:Sat 01st Apr - Carrig na bhFearr 1-7 v Cobh 2-1 
Winners:Carrig na bhFearr
Runners up:Cobh
2017 - JFL Div 1 - Bishop Roche Cup
Final: Sat 11 Nov - Glenbower Rovers 1-13 V Cloyne 2-12 
Winners: Cloyne
Runners up: Glenbower Rovers
Relegated: Dungourney & Carrig na bhFearr

2017 - JFL Div 2 - Patrick O'Mahony Cup
Final: Sun 26th Nov - Erins Own 3-9 v Lisgoold 0-10
Winners: Erins Own
Runners up: Lisgoold
Relegated: Aghada & Russell Rovers


Imokilly AGM (1).jpg - East Cork GAA Board officers at their AGM in Castlelyons Community Centre
Imokilly AGM (2).jpg - Willie Ring speaking after being elected President of East Cork GAA at their AGM in Castlelyons Community Centre
Imokilly AGM (3).jpg - A view of the delegates at the East Cork GAA AGM in Castlelyons Community Centre.
Imokilly AGM (4).jpg - Richard Fitzgerald outgoing Chairman East Cork GAA making a presentation to Ger Lane outgoing Chairman Cork County Board at the East Cork AGM in Castlelyons Community Centre
Imokilly AGM (5).jpg - Michael O Brien Secretary East Cork GAA making a presentation to Richard Fitzgerald outgoing Chairman seen with Willie Ring President at the East Cork AGM in Castlelyons Community Centre
Imokilly AGM (6).jpg - Willie Ring President East Cork GAA Ger Lane out going Chairman Cork County Board Tracey Kennedy incoming Chairman Cork County Board and Jerry O Sullivan
Imokilly AGM (7).jpg - Donal O Keeffe newly elected Chairman East Cork GAA being congratulated by Richard Fitzgerald outgoing Chairman at the East Cork AGM in  Castlelyons Community Centre
Imokilly AGM (8).jpg - Tracey Kennedy incoming Chairman Cork County GAA with Donal O Keeffe newly elected Chairman East Cork GAA seen at the East Cork AGM in  Castlelyons Community Centre
Imokilly AGM (9).jpg - Former East Cork Chairmen who held office when Imokilly won the Cork County Senior Hurling Championship Ger Lane 1998 Richard Fitzgerald 2017 and Jerry O Sullivan in  Castlelyons Community Centre