Imokilly Division News

07 May, 2017

Cork County Senior Hurling Championship Round 1 
Imokilly Vs Bishopstown 06/05/2017 Riverstown 6.45

On Saturday evening last Imokilly took on Bishopstown in front of a large crowed 
in the opening round of the Cork Senior Hurling Championship in a well turned out 
Riverstown. With the weather conditions favourable for Hurling at 6.45 Nathan Wall 
from Carrigaline threw in the ball. For the first 20 minutes was a very even contest 
with both sides scoring point for point and both sides hitting the same number of 
wides Paudie O'Sullivan got the first score of the game and Seamus Harnedy & Will 
Leahey out on the 45 were causing the Bishopstown defence some problems, however by the 20th minute Imokilly started to open a gap and managed to hold this until half 
time which saw both sides go in at the break ahead on a score of Imokilly 0-11 to 
Bishopstown 0-7

The second half started with Bishopstown adding the first point of the half to the 
board but that was to be as close as they would get for the remainder of the game. 
Imokilly pushed on and started adding points to the board. The defence also tightened 
up and gave away less free's in the second half and Imokilly started to dominate 
around the  midle of the field. The introduction of Billy Dunne at full forward halfway 
through the second half did nothing to help the Bishopstown cause as he scored 4 points 
from play after coming on. Imokilly emptied the bench in the last quarter and the game 
as a contest was pretty much over by then Imokilly were well on top all over the field.
and their goals in the second half pretty much killed off Bishopstown. By the final 
whistle with 3 minutes injury time added Imokilly finished the game strong winners on 
a scoreline of Imokilly 2-26 to Bishopstowns 0-12. 

Well dne to both teams for a very sporting game with only 1 yellow card given out on 
the night and the ref did a good job allowing the game to flow. Imokilly go on to face
The winners of U.C.C vs Carrigdhoun which takes place in Pairc Ui Rinn Sunday 7th

1 Declan Dalton Fr O Neills
2 Barra O Tuama Castlemartyr
3 Kieran Histon Cobh
4 Niall Motherway Dungourney
5 Ciaran O Brien St Itas
6 Timmy Geaney Carraig na bhFear
7 John Cronin Lisgoold
8 Mark O Keeffe Fr O Neills
9 Brian Lawton Castlemartyr
10 William Leahy Aghada
11 Ian Cahill Cloyne
12 Seamie Harnedy St Itas
13 Josh Beausang Russell Rovers
14 John Cashman Lisgoold
15 Paudie O Sullivan Cloyne

16 Dara O Callaghan Watergrasshill
17 Eoin Condon St Catherines
18 Colm Barry Castlelyons
19 John Forde Carraig na bhFear
20 Dillon Cahill Cloyne
21 Billy Dunne Fr O Neills
22 Niall O Leary Castlelyons
23 Shane O Regan Watergrasshill
24 Tom Carroll Castlelyons
25 Dan Mangan St Catherines
26 Aidan O Sullivan Castlelyons
27 Cian Fleming Aghada
28 Dara Kelleher Cobh
29 Denis O Farrell Watergrasshill
30 Aaron Stafford Aghada

Manager-Fergal Condon (Aghada)
Selectors-Derek Barrett (Cobh), Jimmy Smiddy (Castlemartyr), Ciaran Cronin (Lisgoold), Sean Harnedy (St Itas)
Physio- Conor Coleman 

11mins 2nd half  21. Billy Dunne 14 for 14. John Cashman
18mins 2nd half  19. John Forde 15. for Paudie O'Sullivan 
22mins 2nd half  17. Eoin Condon for 4. Nial Motherway
23mins 2nd half  18. Colm Barry for 7. John Cronin
25mins 2nd half  25. Dan Mangan for 12. Seamus Harnedy

Scorers Imokilly: 2-26 
Paudie O'Sullivan 1gl 3pts
Seamus Harnedy 4pts
William Leahy 11pts (6 Frees)
Billy Dunne 4pts
Ian Cahill 1gl
Mark O'Keeffe 2pts
Josh Beausang 1pts
Brian Lawton 1pts

1 Ken O Halloran
2 Sean O Rourke
3 Shane O Neill
4 Ben Murphy
5 Cian Sexton
6 Mark O Driscol Capt
7 Brian Coffey
8 Diarmuid Lester
9 Brian Murray
10 Thomas Murray
11 Patrick Cronin
12 Eoin McCarthy
13 Denis Crowley
14 Conor Hegarty
15 Alan O Sullivan

16 N Feehely
17 C O'Driscoll
18 K Foley
19 K O'Driscoll
20 Barry Murphy
21 C O'Hora
22 B Spillane
23 D Driscoll
24 B Donovan
25 P O'Donoghue
26 S Lordan
27 D O'Brien
28 A Dunlea
29 D Quaid
30 B Lane

Manager-Martin Hayes
Coach Eddie Murphy S&C Garreth Flyn, MArk Cogan, Charlie Feehely, Mick O'Loughlin
Doctor Dr Adrian O'Donovan Physio Richie O'Connor

25mins 1st half 18. K Foley for 5. Cian Sexton

Scorers: 0-15
Patrick Cronin 5 (2 Frees 1-65)
Brian Murray 3pts
Thomas Murray 3pts (2 Frees)
Brian Murray 3pts 
Diarmuid Lester 1pts 

25mins 1st half Bishopstown  yellow card 8. Diarmuid Lester

Ref Nathan Wall Carrigaline

Match events as they happened

03mins Imokilly point Paudie O'Sullivan
04mins Bishopstown point Diarmuid Lester
05mins Bishopstown point Patrick Cronin
07mins Imokilly point William Leahy
08mins Bishopstown point Patrick Cronin 65 
08mins Imokilly point Mark O'Keeffe
09mins Imokilly point Seamus Harnedy
10mins Bishopstown point Patrick Cronin free 
13mins Bishopstown point Patrick Cronin free 
13mins Imokilly point Seamus Harnedy
14mins Imokilly point Paudie O'Sullivan
16mins Bishopstown point Brian Murray
17mins Imokilly point William Leahy free 
23mins Imokilly point Seamus Harnedy
23mins Imokilly point William Leahy
25mins Bishopstown yellow card Diarmuid Lester
25mins sub Bishopstown, off Cian Sexton on K Foley
26mins Imokilly point Josh Beausang
29mins Imokilly point William Leahy
30mins Bishopstown  Brian Murray

Half time score: Bishopstown 0-7(7)  Imokilly 0-11(11)

30mins Bishopstown point Thomas Murray
32mins Imokilly point William Leahy free 
34mins Imokilly point William Leahy free 
35mins Imokilly point Seamus Harnedy
37mins Imokilly point Brian Lawton
38mins Bishopstown point Thomas Murray free 
39mins Imokilly point Paudie O'Sullivan
40mins Imokilly point William Leahy
41mins sub Imokilly off:John Cashman  on:Billy Dunne
41mins Imokilly Goal Paudie O'Sullivan
43mins Imokilly point Mark O'Keeffe
45mins Imokilly point William Leahy
47mins Imokilly point Billy Dunne
48mins Bishopstown point Thomas Murray free 
48mins sub Imokilly off:Paudie O'Sullivan  on:John Forde
49mins Imokilly point Billy Dunne
50mins Bishopstown point Patrick Cronin
52mins sub Imokilly off:Nial Motherway  on:Eoin Condon
53mins sub Imokilly off:John Cronin on:Colm Barry
54mins Imokilly point William Leahy free 
55mins sub Imokilly off:Seamus Harnedy  on:Dan Mangan
55mins Imokilly point William Leahy free 
57mins Imokilly point Billy Dunne
58mins Imokilly point Billy Dunne
58mins Imokilly Goal Ian Cahill
60mins Imokilly point William Leahy free 
62mins Bishopstown point Brian Murray

Full time score: Bishopstown 0-12(12)  Imokilly 2-26(32)