Carrigtwohill GAA Club

27 April, 2017

Carrigtwohill GAA Club Notes 27-04-17


Senior Hurling League

St Finbarrs 1-20 Carrigtwohill 2-14 in Togher on Tuesday April 18th

Carrig went into this Senior Hurling League clash in Togher with something to prove after coming off second-best in most areas against Erins Own a week previous. Despite succumbing to a 3 point loss against St. Finbarr’s, Carrig played very well and were unlucky not to come out ahead at the final whistle.

The opening half featured some lovely, open hurling with neither side able to edge out a commanding lead. Sean Rohan put over Carrig’s first two points from play in the opening 10 minutes and a Darren O’Driscoll point had both teams level on three each after 11 minutes. Sean Rohan then grabbed the ball on the 40 and galloped past the yellow-shirted Barr’s defenders before rifling high into the net for Carrig’s first goal. St. Finbarrs replied with a goal of their own 5 minutes later and tapped over a fewof points either side of 3 successive Tomás Hogan frees. With 20 minutes played it was Carrig 1-6 St. Finbarr’s 1-7. The Togher men would outscore Carrig 4 points to 3 to finish out the half with Brendan McCarthy and Darren O’Driscoll pointing from play and Tomás Hogan easing over a placed ball. 1-9 to 1-11 at half time with both sides hurling ably.

Brendan McCarthy sent over a lovely point just after the restart and Tomás Hogan netted a fine goal after picking the pocket of the covering centre-back with a flick and finishing neatly beyond the onrushing goalkeeper. St. Finbarrs scored two points in reply and scores were at a premium as both teams tightened up. As the 50 minute mark approached Carrig’s total had been bolstered by another Sean Rohan point from distance and a Tomás Hogan free to leave Carrig on 2-12 with ten minutes left. The Barrs matched Carrig’s total of 2 points and they drew level on 1-15. Unfortunately, Carrig left a couple of chances behind them as Conor Cahalane and Bill Beckett provided the bulk of the Togher men’s five-point flurry to see the game out. The outstanding Sean Rohan added two more points in reply to leave Carrig at a deficit of 3 when the full-time whistle blew. Carrig were unlucky to lose this one on the balance of play but in truth they could have lost it much sooner if not for the heroics of Shane Devlin who made a number of fine saves. Aaron Gosnell and the O’Mahonys were stolid in defence and Sean Rohan, Tomás Hogan and Brendan McCarthy hurled very well out the field. It was a good performance all round for Carrig who have two league fixtures left against Newtownshandrum and Sars and they can look forward with confidence after this battling display.

Team: Shane Devlin, Aaron Gosnell, Padraic Hogan, Eoghan O’Mahony, Colm O’Connell, Ronan Power, Conor O’Mahony, Jay Horgan, Brendan McCarthy, Sean Rohan, Liam O’Sullivan, Seamus Roche, Dara Crotty, Tomás Hogan, Darren O’Driscoll. Subs used: Sean Dempsey for Seamus Roche. Scorers: Sean Rohan 1-5, Tomás Hogan 1-5 (0-5 frees), Brendan McCarthy 0-2, Darren O-Driscoll 0-2.

Minor Hurling League

Aghabullogue 2-16 Carrigtwohill 2-16 in Coachford on Thursday April 20th

Carrigtwohill travelled to Coachford on Thursday evening last for their second league outing of the year. Carrig played some great hurling in the first half, with some lovely scores from Liam Gosnell, Billy Manning and Conor O’Donovan. At half time Carrig led on a scoreline of 1-11 to 5 points. The second half was a different affair however and indiscipline cost the Carrig team dearly. Aghabullogue came back to draw the game as it finished 2-16 apiece.

Overall it maintains a positive start to the year for Carrig who have played 5 challenge games and 2 league games so far. We remain unbeaten in the league with a total of 3 points.

Panel: Ryan O’Donovan, Gary O’Brien, Kevin Coady, Cormac Flynn, Ryan Conroy, Aaron Walsh Barry, David Rooney, Kiatan Oke, Brendan Twomey, Killian Nolan, Liam Gosnell, Billy Manning, James Mulcahy, Darragh McCann, Conor O’Donovan, Jamie Noonan, Cian Dunlea, Cillian Carroll, Billy Scully, Gary Yerskin, Niall Hannigan, David Folasaide.


Friday April 28th Minor Hurling Challenge Youghal v Carrigtwohill in Youghal (Copper Alley) @7.15pm

Saturday April 29th Senior Hurling League Newtownshandrum v Carrigtwohill in Newtownshandrum @7pm.

Tuesday May 2nd Minor Hurling League Carrigtwohill v Sliabh Rua in Carrigtwohill @7.30pm

Lotto Results 24th April

Jackpot €3,600

Numbers drawn 3, 19, 24 and 27.

No jackpot winner.

€50 winners: Conor Lehane, Taracourt and Linda Buckley

Next week’s jackpot of €3,800 will be drawn in the Gaelic Bar on Monday 1st of May.

Cork Crowned Munster U17 Hurling Champions

Congratulations to Carrigtwohill’s Aaron Walsh Barry and Cork U17s who were crowned Munster Hurling champions after defeating Waterford on a scoreline of 3-13 to 1-12 in Fraher Field, Dungarvan on Tuesday. Walsh Barry excelled from wing back in front of the 1,027 people who saw the Rebels claim victory. Cork now await the identity of their opponent for the All-Ireland semi-final.