Carrigtwohill GAA

30 March, 2017

Carrigtwohill GAA Club Notes 26-03-17


East Cork Junior A Football Championship First Round

Carrigtwohill 0-4 Castlelyons 0-8 in Killeagh on Friday, March 24th at 8pm.

Carrig finished the wrong side of a tough game that was much closer than the final score suggests. Both teams favoured a possession-based approach with runners coming from deep. That meant that the opposition funnelled players back in defence making scoring opportunities hard to come by. As such, scores were at a premium with the deadlock only broken in the 10th minute by Castlelyons. Carrig were well organised defensively and were strong in the tackle. Padraic Hogan from full back and Tomás Hogan and Jay Horgan in the wing back line did well to win possession and launch attacks up the field. Conditions were difficult and maintaining possession of the ball in the final third was a struggle. The score was 2 points apiece at half time as Carrig benefited from a well-taken left foot strike by Daire Crotty and a close-in free by full forward Neil O’Connor.

Upon the resumption, Castlelyons scored 2 points in the first 5 minutes of the second half and despite Carrig’s best efforts they never surrendered that lead. Another Neil O’Connor free drew Carrig within 1 with 20 minutes to go but Castlelyons again rattled over two points stretching the deficit. A third point for O’Connor from a placed ball was Carrig’s last score before Castlelyons tacked on 2 at the end. Carrig had plenty of possession in the 2nd half and despite some lovely play and endeavour from Colin Santry, Darren O’Driscoll and Daire Crotty, they were unable to turn opportunities into scores. Carrig now look to the second round against Midleton on the weekend of April 8th.

Carrig team: Christopher Keegan, Killian McCarthy, Padraic Hogan, Conor O’Mahony, Paul Barden, Jay Horgan, Tomás Hogan, Seamus Roche, Sean Rohan, Shane Healy, Liam O’Sullivan, Daire Crotty, Conor McCarthy, Neil O’Connor, Colin Santry.

Subs used: Darren O’Driscoll, Sean Dempsey, Denis O’Connor, Luke Kelly. Other Subs: Adam McNamara, Brian Purcell, David Mullins.

Selectors: John Horgan, Jim O’Connor, John O’Mahony, Ned Barden and Clive Cremin.

Senior Hurling League Round 3

Carrigtwohill 1-12 Newcestown 0-13 in Newcestown on Sunday 26th March 2017

Carrig’s senior hurlers registered their first victory of the League campaign with a hugely spirited second half performance against Newcestown last Sunday. In many respects the game was dominated by a gale force wind that blew down towards the club house with both teams landing scores from prodigious distances. Carrig had the assistance of the wind in the first half and led by 0-9 to 0-5 at half time with scores from Tomas Hogan, Darren O’Driscoll, Shane Healy and Padraic Hogan but it didn’t look as if four points would be sufficient against the elements in the second half.

However, the intensity and intelligence of Carrig’s performance in the second half was terrific. They moved the ball well from defence and Carrig’s work rate without the ball was hugely impressive. A

goal from Tomas Hogan early in the second half gave Carrig a cushion and further scores from Cathal O’Sullivan, Sean Rohan and O’Driscoll kept Carrig in front and with five minutes of normal time remaining their half time lead of four points still held. With Sean Dempsey making a big contribution as a second half substitute and Ronan Power performing excellently as a sweeper in the second half Carrig held on for a very encouraging victory.

Carrig team: Shane Devlin, Aaron Gosnell, Padraic Hogan, Conor O’Mahony, Jay Horgan, Ronan Power, Colm O’Connell, Liam O’Sullivan, Cathal O’Sullivan, Seamus Roche, Tomas Hogan, Daire Crotty, Shane Healy, Darren O’Driscoll, Sean Rohan. Sub used: Sean Dempsey.

Upcoming Fixtures

Sat April 1st Senior Hurling League Carrigtwohill vs Bride Rovers in Carrig @7.30pm

Sun April 2nd Minor Hurling League Carrig vs Ballinhassig in Ballinhassig @6.30pm

Lotto Results 27th March

Jackpot €2,800

Numbers drawn 14, 24, 26 and 28.

No jackpot winner.

€50 winners: Tadhg & Teresa O’Donovan and Fiona Lannin.

Next week’s jackpot of €3000 will be drawn in the Gaelic Bar on Monday 3rd of April.