Cobh Crowned Champions

26 October, 2009

Cobh Minor Hurlers Crowned County Champions

Cobh 4-12 Dromtarriffe 2-06. Well done to everyone involved in the great victory in Mourneabbey last Friday night, 23rd Oct. A huge following turned out to support the boys in their quest to win a first county title for the club at any level since 1994. The game was a culmination of a season which saw Cobh defeat Sars(ii) and Bride Rovers in the East Cork and then Carbery champions, St. Colm's, and Muskerry champions, Setantas, in the early rounds of the county. The panel of players gave their all to achieve the success and the management team of Declan O’Connell, Brian Farrell, Seamus Ryan and John O’Keeffe did a splendid job in guiding the young lads through the entire championship campaign. The full panel of players for this triumph was: Eddie Walsh, Tony O’Donovan, Jamie Moynihan, Conor Farrell, Darragh O’Keeffe, Kevin Doody, Adam McCarthy, Cian Spriggs, Aidan O’Rourke, Gavin Fitzgerald, Derek Keaney, John Flanagan, Kevin McSweeney, David Devlin, Shane Hallihane, Alan Busteed, Alan O’Flynn, Paul Buckley, Mark Ronan, Eoin Hastings, Gary Collins.

The game was a tight affair with only 4 points separating the sides with eight minutes remaining when Alan Busteed put his stamp on the game with a two goal blast in the space of a couple of minutes which put the result beyond doubt. Early on, Cobh were thankful for the goal scoring ability of Derek Keaney who grabbed two in a minute midway through the first half. His second coming following good work from John Flanagan in preventing the ball being cleared which saw Derek pounce on the broken ball and crash the sliotar past the helpless goalkeeper. Dromtarriffe had been leading the game up to this point showing plenty of ability to take any point scoring opportunities that came their way. When the game was in the melting pot Cobh were well served by the very mean defence of Tony O’Donovan, Jamie Moynihan, Darragh O’Keeffe, Conor Farrell and the imperious Kevin Doody. Throughout the game Eddie Walsh showed excellent ball control in tough weather conditions in the Cobh goal and this provided Cobh with the platform to go ahead and win the game in the second half.

Cian Spriggs and Adam McCarthy thundered into the game around the midfield area in the second half and these two established a dominance, which Drom could not break. Cian also chipped in with some vital frees while Adam’s strong ball carrying ability set up many scores for Cobh. Centre forward Gavin Fitzgerald grabbed four points from play over the hour while Aidan O’Rourke was the main ball winner in the early exchanges and he also popped over some vital scores. In the end this was very much a team victory with the full panel playing their part over a long campaign which has seen six championship victories and ended with team captain Adam McCarthy picking up the cup on behalf of the Cobh minor team – Cork county minor hurling champions for 2009. Well done and congratulations to all.

U16 title is scooped by classy Fr O’Neill’s

Fr O’Neill’s 2-15

Cobh 1-13

Well done to the team and management of the U16s who came so close to winning the county hurling title at Pairc Uí Rinn last Wednesday evening 12th Oct. On the night our lads just came up a bit short but they have given all the supporters great service during the year and a championship run which saw them beat Kiltha Óg, Cloyne, Erin’s Own, Kilworth and Kanturk, while also beating Carrignavar in the league final, augurs well for the future. A big thank you also to all who came to support the boys in their final, the flags, banners and huge numbers really added to the occasion for the players.

Fr O’Neill’s won their first county U16B HC title at Pairc Ui Rinn last evening when they had a close win over Cobh in an all-East Cork final. The opening sequences saw Fr O’Neill’s move into a 0-2 to no score lead with Cobh battling back with two points from their best player Cian Spriggs. However, it was the Ballyma coda-Ladysbridge outfit that were to do quite well during the early exchanges with Liam O'Driscoll, Donough O'Flynn, William Lane, Tony Motherway and Robert Cullinane very commanding. In the 17th minute they struck for the games first goal when a good delivery by Darragh Sexton deceived the Cobh defence with Shane Lee on hand to fin ish to the net from close range to move them into a 1-4 to 0-3 advantage.

Gradually, Cobh began to get a foothold on proceedings with Shane Hallahan very impressive at wing-back, while Aidan O'Rourke and Cian Spriggs were impressive up front. Spriggs pointed a free before Kevin McSweeney with a goal leveled matters at 1- 4 each after 21 minutes play. Cobh were now in the ascendancy and helped by points from Paul Buckley, Aidan O'Rourke and Cian Spriggs, they moved ahead 1-7 to 1-5 after 28 minutes.

O'Neill's staged a great late rally and by the end of the half a long delivery by the impressive Liam O'Driscoll found its way to the net with the same player adding a point in injury time to have Fr O'Neill's ahead at the break 2-6 to 1-7.

Cobh made an encouraging start to the second half that resulted in two early points from near the sideline by Cian Spriggs and Aidan O'Rourke. However, it was the better-balanced O'Neill's side that gained the initiative with Mark O'Keeffe, Darragh Sexton and Joe Mellerick very commanding in the half-forward line. Between them they accounted for six points during the second half. Wing back Kenneth Hegarty gave the winners a lead they would not relinquish when he pointed from long range in the 35th minute. By the three quarter stage they moved into a five point lead 2- 13 to 1- 11.

Cobh relied mainly on Cian Spriggs up front for scores and he tagged on two more points before the final whistle. There was no denying Fr O'Neill's their victory with Pádraig McMahon and Mark O’Keeffe keeping them ahead with late points.

Scorers for Fr O'Neill's: L O'Driscoll 1-5 (0-3 frees), M O'Keeffe 0-3, D Sexton 0-3, S Lee 1-0, P McMahon 0-2, JMellerick, K Hegarty 0-1 each. Cobh: C Spriggs 0-9 (0-5 frees, 0-2 '65'), A O'Rourke 11-3, K McSweeney 1-0, P Buckley 0-1

FR O'NEILL'S : E O'Neill; D Harrington, W Lane, A Kenneally; D McCarthy, T Motherway, K Hegarty; L O'Driscoll, D O'Flynn; M O'Keeffe, D Sexton, J Mellerick; P McMahon, R Cullin ane, S Lee.

COBH: E Walsh; M Ronan, T O'Donovan, C McLoughlin; J Keating, D O'Keeffe, S Hallahan, C Spriggs, J Moynihan, J Ronan, A O'Rourke, J Flanagan, I Aherne, P Buckley, K Mc Sweeney. Subs: D Keaney for J Ronan, A O'Flynn for I Aherne, Kieran Histon for J Keating, E Hastings for P Buckley.

Referee: Diarmuid Kirwan (Eire Óg).