Imokilly Division AGM

04 December, 2016

Imokilly Division AGM 

On Thursday 1st December Imokilly Division held its Annual Convention/AGM in St Itas Gortroe Hall. St Itas chairman Ed Coleman Welcomed the large crowd in attendance to Gortroe hall and gave a brief  out line of St Itas GAA Club history, He also welcomed the St Itas President Jim Griffin who was present on the night. 

Imokilly Chairman Risteard MacGearailt then took to the podium and thanked everyone for their attendance  including  Cork Chairman Ger Lane, Vice Chairperson Tracey Kennedy and Cork Coaching  Officer Kevin O Donovan as well as all the delegates from Imokilly clubs.

Secretary Michéal Ó Briain then read out the minutes of last years AGM which were adopted and gave his report for  the year 2016 going through each aspect of the divisions activities during the year from games, leagues, championships in hurling and football and the boards work during the year as well as a comprehensive report on the Imokilly Senior  Hurling team.

Our Cultural Officer Dónal Ó hÉigeartaigh then gave a brief report on the activities during the year outlining some of the problems facing clubs with lack of participation in score etc from clubs in the area.

Ciarán Mac Cana our treasurer then gave a full and detailed report on the finances for the year showing that the Imokilly  division was on sound financial footing.

Our Chairman then gave his address talking about the Junior Hurling, football Championships and Leagues our U21 teams as well as our Imokilly Hurling team. He thanked all the delegates, clubs, referees and venues as well as Dónal Ó Caoimh for his work as referee and fixture administrator he spoke about the members of the division who had passed away during the year mentioning  St Catherines David Hoare and the work he had done in his time with the board. He thanked his fellow officers and officers of the County Board He praised the work being done in all clubs at underage level and he finished by wishing the clubs still involved in the Harty cup every success going forward.

The was followed by a presentation of medals to all the clubs who won at different levels during the year
Roll of Honour
JAHC Sarsfields
JAFC Cloyne
JBHC Sarsfields
JCHC Bride Rovers
U21AHC Erins Own
U21AFC Aghada
U21BHC Castlemartyr
U21BFC Fr O Neills
JHL1 Sarsfields
JFL1 Finalsits Carrig na bhFearr & Glenville
JHL2 Carrigtwohill
JFL2 Glenbower Rovers
JHL3 St Catherines
JFL3 Russell Rovers
Abernethy Cup: Youghal

Then the election of officers for the coming year commenced and the outgoing board were elected for the coming year with the exception of our Cultural Officer who will be elected at our first meeting.

Then Kevin O Donovan Cork Coaching Officer spoke thanking the board for inviting him along and he gave a brief report on underage activities in cork and how the work being carried out across the county was beginning to pay off and clubs were putting in huge effort at ground level 

The final speaker for the evening was Cork Chairman Ger Lane and he thanked everyone for coming and he spoke about how well Imokilly as a division was doing and he spoke about the opening of Pairc Ui Chaiomh in the new year. He thanked everyone for the work that is 
being done at ground level in clubs and for the work being carried out at board level in the division.

Art Supple from St Itas then gave a stirring rendition of the National Anthem which the delegates joined in to finish the meeting.  Once the official business was over then the delegates sampled some great apple tart and cakes , sandwiches and tea and coffee which St Itas had laid on for the occasion. A big thank you to the St Itas club for everything on the night and here's looking forward to a great 2017 in Imokilly.

In the meantime may I take this time to thank the following people for their help during the year our sponsors, all the local media, news print and radio stations for the great coverage they give Imokilly GAA during the year and finally may I take this time to wish everyone a happy and peaceful Christmas and a wonderful new year for 2017.

Photos courtsey of Denis O Flynn