Lisgoold GAA Club

13 September, 2016

Lisgoold GAA Club Notes

Issue 37, 12 Sep 2016

By Séamus McSweeney, PRO, Lisgoold GAA. Contact:

Juvenile Round Up

U15s create club history

Lisgoold 2-16 vs 2-06 Aghabullogue

Our U15 hurlers created a piece of club history when they captured the clubs first ever A grade title with a thoroughly deserved victory in the final of U15 County Championship at a foggy Mayfield last Tues evening (Sep 6). After defeating Sam Maguires, Fr. O’Neill’s and Ballygiblin in the path to the final, Aghabullogue, from mid Cork, were the final opposition. The lads got off to a perfect start, racing into a 1-03 to 0-01 lead within 10 minutes, thanks to a goal and a point from Mark Hegarty and a point from Cathal Hickey. In the early stages of the game Aghabullogue struggled to contain the movement of the half-forward line of Izaak Walsh, Jamie Browne and Hickey and the midfield dynamos, Mark Hegarty and Declan O’Brien and by the first quarter, Lisgoold were up 1-08 to 0-02. Despite this, Aghabullogue did threatened at the other end and on 16 minutes they were rewarded with a well taken goal which gave them something of a lifeline. However, they faced a huge task at half-time with Lisgoold leading 1-10 to 1-03; MOTM Cathal Hickey scorer in chief, pointing from general play and frees. After the break, it was Lisgoold who drove home the advantage, in the 31st minute after a quick reaction save by Evan Manning, Jamie Browne got an excellent point on the run, which was followed on 34 minutes with a pointed effort from Cathal, and at 1-12 to 1-03, the outcome seemed a foregone conclusion. But that belies the proud hurling tradition of the opposition – remember this club was the first Cork team to win an All-Ireland senior hurling title in 1890. Ten minutes later, the 9 point margin was 3 as Aghabullogue scored 1-03 without reply. However, a 4 minute break in play on 45 minutes halted their momentum and the 8 minute period that followed was without a score from either side. James O’Driscoll, Luke Walsh and Sayef Ziad repelling the attacks, while upfront, the lads missed a few chances. On 53 minutes, Cathal broke the stalemate and punished the opposition, converting 2 frees and a 65. Going into added time, Lisgoold were up 1-15 to 2-06, and saw the game out with another point from Cathal, who finished the game with 14 points, and a fine ground stroke from that ace goal poacher, Izaak Walsh, to put the finishing touches on the game. Afterwards the Cup was presented to joint captains Robbie Kinnane & Cathal Hickey by Rebel Ōg Secretary Jim Healy, and the lads returned to the village to celebrate this fine achievement.

Lisgoold: Evan Manning, Liam Walsh, Robbie Kinnane, Stephen Roe, James O'Driscoll, Luke Walsh, Sayef Ziad, Mark Hegarty (1-01), Declan O’Brien, Izaak Walsh (1-00), Cathal Hickey (0-14, (0-08 f)), Jamie Browne (0-01), Cormac Hallahan, Daragh Desmond, Oisin Shanahan. Subs. Diarmuid Healy, Shane Byrne, Dan Power, Daniel Buckley, Fionn McSweeney, Mark O'Keeffe, Sean Murphy, Michael Roe, Johnathan Kelleher, Luke Thompson, Diarmuid Fitzpatrick.

Minors down but not out.

Lisgoold 2-10 vs 2-15 Watergrasshill

A strong overall display from Watergrasshill saw them overcome Lisgoold in Thursday's East Region Minor Hurling Final at Castlelyons. The lads had to cope with the significant losses of Cian Healy and Liam O’Shea in the lead up to the game. The games’ 4 goals were all scored in a competitive first half with Rob Williams and Liam Stack netting for Lisgoold. Watergrasshill took a 4 point advantage into the break, 2-09 vs 2-05. On the restart, Lisgoold had a lot of possession and Jason Hegarty and Coalan O’Brien registered fines points after some surging runs from midfield. Despite creating a lot of scoring opportunities, some wayward shooting meant that the gap was never closer than 3 points. Watergrasshill finished the match in a strong fashion by outscoring Lisgoold 3 points to 1 in the final 10 minutes. However, both sides Lisgoold advance to the County section with Lisgoold set to play Ballycosgry Rovers (Ballyhea/Churchtown/Liscarroll) in a match likely to be fixed for next Saturday.

Team: James Murphy, Sean Nagle, Luke Walsh, Eoin Ruane, Sean Whelan, Jason Hegarty, Cathal Hickey, Kieran Cashman, Caolan O’Brien, Liam Stack, Ryan Hogan, Declan O’Brien, Evan Manning, Robert Williams, Aidan McDonagh. Subs: Liam O’Shea, Ross Shanahan, Emmet Roche, Robbie Kinnane, Fionn Mory.

U16 footballers lose out to Castlelyons

Lisgoold 6-04 vs 6-10 Castlelyons

Our U16 footballers bowed out of the football championship after a very strong second half showing from Castelyons. The game was going according to plan up to half time when Lisgoold took a narrow 3-02 to 2-03 lead into half time. But in the second half Castlelyons got a run on Lisgoold, with wave after wave of attack, to win out this encounter.

U14 County Final

The U14 County Final versus Keale Gaels which was postponed is likely to be re-fixed for Sat 17th. It may be a double-header with the minor match but details have yet to be confirmed.

Roanmore Tournament

Our U8 team will compete in the Roanmore inter county hurling blitz with teams from Munster and Leinster represented. It is organised by the Roanmore Juvenile GAA Club, located in Waterford City who have run this Hurling Blitz for past 20 years in aid of various charities. It has proven a great day out for the boys and we wish them the best of luck.

U9 & U10 Inter-county Tournament

In what is being billed as an inter-county tournament, we will welcome Loughmore-Castliney (Co. Tipperary) and An Rinn (Co. Waterford), along with Whites Cross and Granard Gaels (Churchtown/Liscarrol) to Lisgoold next Sat for a round robin hurling tournament. Loughmore-Castleiney is the home of the famed McGrath clan, with Noel, John and younger brother Brian collecting All-Ireland medals in Croke Park earlier this month. The games should provide an opportunity for the lads to experience playing different teams. Medals for all and trophies are on offer.

Cash for Clobber

Thanks to everyone who contributed and organized the cash for clobber last week. All proceeds go towards the development fund.

Lisgoold GAA Lotto Jackpot of €20,000 remains up for grabs!

Lisgoold GAA Lotto Draw Numbers, Aug 30th. Numbers: 15, 21, 22, 24: No Winner. €20: Stephen Sloane, Hannah Barry, Seamus O'Leary, Fiona Dwyer. Next Draw is Tues 13th September in Tattans Bar. Main Jackpot is now at €20,000 Reserve Lotto €4,200.

Social Media – roll out of what’s app

Lisgoold CLUBTEXT is now on What's App. To get latest news on club activities, download what's app and text 0872123628 to request inclusion. Check out our website You can also find us on Facebook and Twitter. It’s a great way to keep up with all our fixtures, results and latest news.