Fr O'Neills GAA Club Notes

13 July, 2016


16-07-16: Jnr. Hurling Lge. Div. 3 Fr. O’Neills v ErinsOwn at 7pm in Caherlag.

Club Lotto:

Draw result from Sat. 9th July Jackpot €9,600.00 numbers drawn:  2, 7, 14, 20 no winner. Match 3 €100.00: 2 x winners Ann Foley & Mary Cahill €50.00 each. This week’s draw is on Fri. 15th July in Garryvoe Hotel with a Jackpot of €9,800.00, Match 3 consolation €100.00, Tickets available from The Thatched Inn, Garryvoe Hotel, The Bridge Hair Salon, O’Flynn’s MACE Srv. Station, Finns Tavern and all Adult and Juvenile Club Comm. Members, please support your Parish GAA Club.

Club Golf Classic 2016 – Sponsored by O’Flynn’s Mace Srv. Station

Our Annual Golf Classic took place last Thurs. and Fri. in Youghal Club with over 80 Teams taking part. The courtesy and service shown to us by the Staff and Mgnt. of Youghal Golf Club was second to none over the 2 days and with the Course in fantastic condition some outstanding scores were returned over the 2 days. A huge word of thanks to our main sponsors Denis & Margaret O’Flynn of Mace Service Station Ladysbridge all our Team sponsors and over 130 Tee Box sponsors all of whom contributed to make this year’s Classic an outstanding success. The full list of winners is as follows:


1st: Liam Leahy, Luke Swayne, Robbie Dalton

2nd: Sam Cashman, Paul Cashman, Patsy O’Regan

3rd: Tadg O’Mahony, Patsy O’Regan, Michael Murphy

4th: Liam Hyde, Mick Keane, Liam Hickey

5th: Brian Barnes, John Moloney, Mick O’Sullivan

6th: Robbie Dalton, Liam Leahy, Deccie Dalton

Non – G.U.I.

1st: Steven Sloane, Gavin Sloane, Tony Sloane

2nd: Cillian Broderick, Daniel Harrington, Colm Swayne

3rd: Trevor Dineen, Tony Connolly, Deccie Dalton

Best Juvenile

Dominic Barry, Ciaran Aherne, Cormac Aherne

Nearest the Pin

13th Hole: Tim Mason

16th Hole: Mark Coughlan

Intermediate Hurling Co. C/ship.

The draws for the 3rd and 4th rnd. pairings of the Co. C/ship. took place on Mon. night the 4th July we have been drawn against the winners of the 2nd. rnd. meeting of Aghada v Castlemartyr in the 4th rnd. the provisional date on this is the 14th Aug. this may change.

Juvenile Club

U15 County Hurling Championship.

Fr. O’Neills 1:16 v St. Colmans 0:04

We put last year's County title on the line with this first round tie played in Aghavine. Going

into this tie one felt it would be a close affair but we were to run out easy winners at the

finish. We got a great start with John Millerick, Conor Lee and David O Neill getting fine

scores from play. Tom Wall got a fine goal in the 20th minute and further points from Conor

and John gave us a 1.11 to 0.4  lead at half time. Brian Kenneally got a fine long range point at the start of the second half. John Millerick got three further points from play and a 65 from Brian Kenneally finished our scoring. St Colmans to their credit tried their best but for a lot of frees being missed this game would have been a lot closer. Our backline were very solid throughout, Sam Shanahan, Sean O Riordan and Peter Hassett being in command throughout.

We scored 1.14 from play which was very pleasing.

U15 County Hurling Quarter Final.

Fr. O’Neills 1:12 v Lisgoold 1:15.

This tie was always going to be close as in past ties there was nothing between the sides.

We registered the opening score from John Millerick further points were exchanged and by

the 20th minute it was 5 points a piece . James Millerick got a goal with a fine ground stroke,

but again Lisgoold got late points to have the sides deadlocked at the break 1:06 to 0:09.

In a hard fought second half we began to dominate possession early on with Jake Shine

operating on the wing getting a fine point . The strong fullback line of Lisgoold were in no

mood to concede scores and one felt this was the line which pushed them on for their final

victory. Lisgoold got the vital goal and a further point to put four points between the sides.

A late Peter Hassett point got this game down to a puck of a ball then the final whistle blew

in this absorbing contest. We came out second best in this tie but Lisgoold to their credit

were a hard nut to crack on the night and they will have a major say in the destination of

this title.

Team: D .Higgins, S. O Riordan  M.Neufang,S Shanahan. E Mcevoy, P Hassett, C Murphy,

B Kenneally  M.Cody, C Lee, David O Neill, S Kelleher, J Shine, J Millerick, T Wall,James

Millerick, C Mchugh, E Bernard, C Greene, E O Keeffe, T Collins,M O Leary, D Collins,

Garret  Prenderville, D Mcallister, James  Murphy.



U18 Premier 2a Hurling League Fr. O’Neills 1:20 v Eire Og 3:11.

U18 Premier 2a Hurling Championship Fr. O’Neills 0:13 v Mallow 5:15.


Mon 11th July U16 Premier 2a Hurling League Fr. O’Neills v Ballyhea at 8pm in Aghavine.

Mon 11th July U12B Hurling League Fr. O’Neills v St Colmans at  7.30pm away.

Wed 13th July U18 East Football League Fr. O’Neills v St Vincents at 7.30pm in St Vincents

Mon 18th July U16 Premier 2a Hurling Championship Fr. O’Neills v Carrigtwohill at 7.30pm Venue TBC.

Visit our website visit us on our twitter page @froneills and follow and like our Facebook page Fr.O Neills GAA to keep up with all our fixtures, results and latest news.