Imokilly Team News

09 May, 2016

News for Imokilly GAA  By Imokilly PRO Shane Supple

Imokilly Senior Hurling

Imokilly will take on Youghal in the revived Abernathy Cup on the 18th May at 7.30pm in Castlemartyr with Kiltha Og V Youghal U10s taking to the field at half time.


On Monday 9th May at 8.30pm we held a press reception in Pat Shorts Bar Castlemartyr to Launch the Abernathy Cup. Shane Supple PRO with Imokilly thanked everyone for attending on the night and he gave a brief history of the Abernethy Cup to the large crowd in attendance. He then invited the Imokilly Chairman Richard Fitzgerald to say a few words and Richard thanked everyone for attending including Michael Abernethy and members of the Abernethy family before he spoke about Imokilly hurling and the game on Wed 18th.

Shane Supple then called on Coleman Abernethy to say a few words on behalf of the Abernethy family and Coleman mentioned it was a great Honour to be there on the night and that it was great to see the cup being revived and that in turn it would be something the younger players in East Cork could look forward to and he wished everyone well on the night. With that Shane Supple thanked everyone for being there and announced that refreshments sponsored by our chairman were available.


The Will John Abernethy Memorial Cup was presented by TW Abernethy & Sons Ltd to the East Cork Juvenile Board around 1998 and was used to raise much need funds for their under age divisional teams at the time in the East Cork Senior Hurling Championship. Times have moved on and the Championship structure has changed a lot in the last number of years as has our Juvenile structure with these boards and competitions now under the Rebel Og structure and County Boards jurisdiction the Cup was no longer used.

So we can only say well done to the Imokilly Board and the current management team of the Imokilly who decided to bring this cup back to use in 2016 and I must mention Fergal Condon and Kieran McGann in that respect. Kieran brought it up at a board meeting and everyone agreed we should use this great trophy once again. Its a fantastic cup and its a shame to not use it and in the current times when Divisions are trying to maintain tradition and competitions, its great to see this fantastic Cup back out in the public domain so to speak.


The list of Winners engraved on the Cup are as follows starting in 1998

1998 Imokilly

1999 Midleton

2000 St Catherine’s

2001 Cloyne

2002 Erins Own

2003 Sarsfields

2004 Erins Own


The last team to win the cup was Killeagh who beat Cloyne in October 2009. The first half display was normal enough from both teams but the second half was by no means a classic and unfortunately saw tempers flare on several on occasions leading referee James Birmingham to flash four red cards. Padraig McGrath was the captain of Killeagh and the cup was presented to him by Regina Abernethy Chairperson of the East Cork Juvenile Board after the game in Midleton.

Photo - Members of the Abernethy Family, The Imokilly Board and representatives from Youghal and Imokilly teams.

Fr Smith Cup Final  

Sun 8th June 7-00 pm in Castlelyons
Castlelyons 1-16, Imokilly 1-19

The game was played in Castlelyons on Sunday evening and despite a persistent drizzle, was an entertaining affair, but Castlelyons came up short against a hardworking Imokilly outfit. Castlelyons started well with the defence covering well, Anthony Spillane had 0-2 and Alan Fenton 0-1 to go into a three-point lead but  Imokilly came back as the ‘Hill men O’Regan and O’Callaghan put over a few scores and Billy Dunne began to find his range around the middle of the field.  Declan Dalton in goals was called on to make two good saves to keep Imokilly in the game.  Both teams went in at half time on 0-9 apiece.

Imokilly were more determined in the second half and scored 1-1 early as Billy Dunne became more prominent outfield. Another to do well in his general contribution was Kieran Cronin normally Imokilly sub goalie but now playing across the full forward line.  Castlelyons did get a few scores but Imokilly opened up a 0-7 gap and a late goal from Aidan O Sullivan and 0-1 from E Maye cleaned up the Scoreboard as time ran out.  Due to the number of games on in East Cork over the week end it was hard work to put out an Imokilly team but full credit to the three Fr O Neills players Billy Dunne, Podge Butler and Declan Dalton who came from Kildorrery directly and played again with the Divisional side.


Team as per programme: - Declan Dalton, Barra O’Tuama, Podge Butler, Eoin Condon, Sean O’Callaghan, Timmy Geaney (Capt),Daniel Mangan, Ciaran O Brien, Ger Melvin, Shane O Regan,  Darragh Kelleher, Eoin Healy, Paul Murphy, Billy Dunne, Cian Spriggs, Ciaran Cronin, Adam McCarthy, Matthew Mulcahy, Denis O Farrell, Trevor O Keeffe, Cian Fleming


Scores for Imokilly: - B Dunne, 1-6, S O Regan 0-6, S O Callaghan 0-2, K Cronin 0-2, C Spriggs 0-1, D Kelleher 0-1, T Geaney 0-1,


Thank you to Kieran McGann for the report on the game.


Keep up to date with Imokilly GAA news on the following

Website -


Twitter -

You can also tune into Community Radio Youghal every Friday evening at 6pm to hear GAA This Week with presenter Michael O Brien who will have all the local GAA News and interviews from national to local level.

If you have any adult club items that need including on the Imokilly website or news please email

Shane Supple, PRO Imokilly at