Carrigtwohill GAA Notes

01 February, 2016

Carrigtwohill GAA Notes

Following our recent AGM our Executive Committee for 2016 is as follows;

President; Mr Eddie O’Riordan.
Chairman; Mr Tony Flynn.
Joint Vice Chairmen: Mr Jimmy O’Reilly & Mr Michael Ahern.
Secretary; Mrs Caroline Dixey.
Fixture & Field Secretary; Mr Peter Hogan.
Treasurer ; Mr Paddy Vaughan.
Registrar ; Ms Pat Cooney.
Cultural Officer: Mr Kieran Horgan.
Insurance Officer: Mr Ted Carroll.
Child Welfare Officer;Mr Ruairi O’Cathain.
Co.Board Delegate (Hurling) Mr Peter Hogan, Mrs Caroline Dixey.
Co.Board Delegate (Football) Mr Tony Flynn, Mr John O’Mahony.
East Cork Board Delegate; Mr Michael Rohan, Mr Kieran Horgan, Mr John O’Mahony;
Committee Members;  Mr JJ Barry, Mr Maurice O’Donoghue, Mr John Ronan, Mr Denis Walsh, Mr Jimmy McCarthy, Mr Neilus Kidney, Mr Kieran Gosnell, Mr John Flannery, Mr Jim Cooney, Mr Tadgh O’Donovan.Mr Tim O’Connor.Mr John O’Donnell.Mr Frank Hannigan.

Adult Club Managers and Coaches 2016;

Senior Hurling; Niall Kidney – Manager, Kieran Brennan- Selector, Denis Walsh- Selector, Peter Hogan – Fixtures;

Junior Hurling:Peter Hogan- Manager, Philip Kidney-Selector,  Anthony Barry- Selector;     

Junior Football :John Horgan, Jim O’ Connor – Selector, Ned Barden- Selector;             

U21 Hurling;Niall Barrett – Manager, John Buckley Jnr – Coach, John Ronan – Selector, Niall Forbes – selector, Conor Healy – Selector, Jimmy McCarthy-selector, Liam Barry (Ardglass)-Selector

U21 Football: Niall Barrett- Manager, Jay Horgan- Coach, Dermot Cashman – Selector, Anthony Barry – Selector, Sean Buckley – Selector;

Minor Hurling & Football  Kieran Gosnell – Manager, Vince Crotty – Selector, Aaron Gosnell – Selector, Mattie Foley – Selector;

Committee Meeting; The first Club Committee meeting for 2016 will take place on Thurs Feb 4th at 8pm in Glenmary Hall;

Championship/League Draws and Fixtures; At last week’s meeting of the East Cork Board championship draws were made for Junior Football and Under 21 Football

Carrigtwohill drew Midleton in the Junior A Football Championship.The game is scheduled for Sat Mar 26th ;Time TBC;

Carrigtwohill drew St Catherines in Under 21 Football Championship.The game is scheduled for Sat Feb20th;Time TBC;

Carrigtwohill are in Junior Football league 2 with a total of 5 games to play.Our league opener is against Cobh which is scheduled for Sun Feb 21st Time TBC.

In Senior Hurling league Carrigtwohill’s opening two games are against county champions Glen Rovers on Sun Feb 28th in Carrig at 12 noon and away to Youghal on Sun Mar 6th at 3.30pm.

Fixture ;Sun Feb 7th in Carrigtwohill at 11.30am Under 21 Football Challenge Carrig V Lisgoold;

Fitzgibbon Cup; Well done to Niall McCarthy who recently played for UCC in the Fitzgibbon Cup against UCD;

Sympathy; The Club would like to extend it’s sympathy to the family of the late Mr Pat Foley former President and Chairman of the East Cork Juvenile GAA Board.

Community Award; Congratulations to our Club President Eddie O’Riordan who recently was presented with the inaugural Carrigtwohill Community/Sports Hall of Fame award kindly sponsored by Leo Spratt of Spratts.Well done to Eddie on receiving the award which was well deserved. Congratulations to him and his family;

Munster Council; The Club would like to extend it’s congratulations to Mr Jerry O’Sullivan Cloyne who was elected unopposed Chairman of the Munster GAA Council last weekend.