22 September, 2015

Junior C Hurlers in Semi Final & Final.


Our Junior C grade hurling team contest the East Cork Championship  semi final on Sunday next. On last Monday night in Killeagh they defeated the home side and this win qualified the team for the Junior 4 League Final. In this final our opponents will be Watergrasshill.



On Sunday next at Watergrasshill we face Sarsfields in the semi final of the East Cork Junior  hurling championship. This is our third team while Sars are fielding their fourth team in this competition. We had a good 3  11 to 0 11 win over Youghal while Sars beat Lisgoold on a scoreline of 4 12 to 2 9. Last year we reached the final of this championship but lost out by 2  11 to  1  11 to Russell Rovers. Our team and scorers on that day in Dungourney was  Maurice Dooley, Podge Noonan, Brian Collins, Brian Lahive, Jacob Makau, Pat Walsh, Sean Cotter, Gavin O Flynn, Pa O Driscoll, Damien Buckley (0 3), Mike Hogan( 0 1), Gavin Quill (0 3), James Hogan(0 1), Garry Clerkin(1 0) captain, Colm Power(0 1), Padraig Murphy, Daniel Lane(0 1), Kieran Wolfe, James Barry & David Quinn. Of that panel twelve are involved this year. Our panel overall is a good mix of very experienced players with some young up and coming lads. Some of the lad have played at Junior b, Junior A, Intermediate and Senior level over the years. Sars are a very young team with seven of their Premier  Minor side involved. While it is their fourth team Sars have huge numbers playing so they will provide very tough opposition. The game against Killeagh on Monday night was a good preparation for the championship fixture. It would be mighty to reach the East Cork Final for the second year in a row. Go for it lads. The game is at 11.30 on Sunday.


JHL Semi Final.

On Monday night under lights at Pairc Ui Chinneide in Killeagh we took on the home side under lights. It was rip roaring game that produced thirty one scores. We won on a scoreline of 5  15 to 3  8. In all nine players contributed to our final tally.

Panel; Daniel Lane, Podge Noonan, Pa O Driscoll, Jack Connor, Brian Lahive, Pat Walsh, Sean Cotter, Gavin O Flynn,  Adrian Buckley, Terry Broderick, Richie Cahill, G. Quill, Pat Cotter, Donal Ryan, Owen Murphy, Cian Howard, Colm Howard, Dylan Browne, Kieran Wolfe.  This win puts us into the Division 4 League Final against Watergrasshill.



The Jackpot for Tuesday September 15th was €6800.  The 4 numbers drawn were 7 8 13 16. and there was no winner. This  week's jackpot  was €7000. €30 winners Catherine Williams Ballyhooly, Eleanor Ahern Bartlemy, Veronica McCarthy Glanmire, Siobhan Cashman, Don Quill. 

Tickets for the Lotto are just €2 each and can be had from Club members, in local businesses and online at


JHC in Pitch.

Thanks to all who helped out on Saturday evening with the hosting of the Co JHC fixture between Dungourney and Harbour Rovers.


U 14 County Final.

Hard luck to the u 14 hurling team who lost out to Inniscarra in the Co. Final on Saturday. This is our second year in a row losing the final of this competition, last year we lost out to Blarney. Keep it up lads and best of luck to the u15 hurlers who take on combination side Slieverue in the Mardyke on tonight Thursday.


All Ireland Ladies Football Final.

Best of luck to Cork and the Bride Rovers girls in next Sunday's Final against Dublin.


Club Sponsors.

The Bride Rovers GAA Club are proud to have Rathcormac Tyres, O Coileáns Bar and Veolia Environmental Services as our valued Club Sponsors.