Castlelyons GAA Notes

15 September, 2015

U21 Loose out in East Cork Final.

U21 Hurling

Castlelyons 4-13  Watergrasshill  2-23 (AET)

We played Watergrasshill in the final of the East Cork U21 B hurling in Rathcormac  and after a terrific battle that went to extra time we lost out by 4 points. Going into this match we new it would be close as all matches between these sides underage had been very even. J Barry had our first score with a long range point from a free followed soon after by a goal from A Spillane to give us the lead but Watergrasshill battled back and sides were level after 10 mins. A Fenton restored our lead when he got in for a well taken goal but each time we allowed Watergrasshill back into the match through the concession of frees. Further points from A Fenton and N O Leary and a goal before half time from A Spillane saw us go in leading by 3-04 to 0-09.

Second half played out same as first with us holding a 3pt lead but conceding easy frees. Saying that our backlines came under increasing pressure and played well. We added points from A Fenton, A Spillane,  N O Leary and S Moroney to hold our lead but with 10 mins to go Watergrasshill got in for their first goal to level the match. Play was frantic from here on with both sides doing their best to win. In the last minutes A Fenton and A Spillane scored 3 pts to give us a good lead but in the last play of the match Watergrasshill scored a goal to level it again.

So it was on to extra time and with light and energy running out Watergrasshill seemed to have more left than us and raced into a 3 pt lead however just before halftime S Hickey goaled for us to tie the match again. Watergrasshill dominated the last period and scored 4 unanswered points to run out winners of what was an absorbing game. Well done to everyone management and players for the great commitment shown and it was an unfortunate way to loose the final.

Team ; J Barry (0-01f) ,S Fenton, D Varner, C Lawlor, K O Leary, T Carroll, C O Neill, R O Regan, N O Leary (0-03)

J O Leary, A Spillane (2-04  2f), S Moroney (0-01f), B O Donovan, A Fenton (1-04), S Hickey (1-00).

Subs; Ml Geary , D Beausang , A Henley.

Fundraising Draw

The countdown is well and truly on for the two fundraising draws and with 1 week to go to the first draw which will be staged on September 19th everyone is out and about to make the last sales. To date, the response has been exceptional with 80% of the projected number of cards sold and with another week to go one final push will get us over the line.This draw is operating on the same basis as last year with the purchase of 1 line allowing the holder entry into 2 draws. Draws will be held on Sept 19th and Sept 26th with substantial prizes on offer each night ,a  top prize of €500 and numerous other prizes. The success of this on going initiative has been has only been made possible by the generosity of the sponsors who have once again come on board and supported us. These sponsors include  Murphy Vehicle Repairs, Lagan Group, East Cork Oil,  Suit Distributors Cork, Bord Gais Networks, Fitzgerald Bros, Metrology Systems and Services, The Abbey Tavern, The Grand Hotel, Forge Bar & Restaurant, Castlebride Plastics, Bertie Murphy Painting Contractor, Cheers Bar and Martin Dorgan. Tickets are now available from any club member and select outlets in the parish so please support and help the club to continue all the good work they are doing for the youth of the parish.


Fermoy take on Glanworth in the semi final of the IF Championship in Castlelyons on Saturday 26th. This being a local derby we appeal to all members to make themselves available to act as stewards on the day as a large crowd is expected.


Minor C County semi final V Kildorrery in Fermoy on Saturday 19th @ 4.30 pm.
IFC Fermoy V Glanworth in Castlelyons on Saturday 26th Sept @ 5.30 pm.

Lotto Results for   14 /09/2015

 The numbers drawn were       13, 14, 24, 28.

 No Winner

 The jackpot was    €2400

 The following won € 20

 Breda Cotter  (BM)
 Colm Dorgan  (MD)
 Sarah Jane Dorgan  (MD)
 Patrice O Neill  (PC)
 Danny Hourgan  (BS)
 James Ronayne  (MS)
 Jack Kenny  (DOC)
 M J Dorgan  (MD)