Killeagh GAA Club Weekly News

17 August, 2015

NEWSLETTER FOR W/C August 17th 2015.

Club Lotto Results;

Our latest lotto draw took place on Tuesday August 11th where there was no winner of the €7800 jackpot. Numbers drawn were 9, 13, 20, and 29. €30 lucky dip winners were Bridie Collins, Michael O Reilly, William Murphy and Margaret Deane. The jackpot prize for our next draw will be €8000. It will take place in our clubhouse on Tuesday night, August 18th. Thanks to everyone who supports our weekly lotto draw.[RN]

Hurling/Football Fixtures and Results;

East Cork Jun ‘C’ HC Killeagh 0-12 Cobh 2-16 played in Castlemartyr on Sat Aug 15th

Cork SHC Relegation Killeagh v Bishopstown, date time and venue TBC

Cork Red FM SHL Killeagh 2-17 Blackrock 2-27 played in Killeagh on Sunday Aug 9th

Cork Red FM SHL Killeagh 4-15 St Finbarrs 3-16 played in Killeagh on Aug 7th

East Cork U21HC ‘A’ Killeagh-Ita’s v Fr O’Neills, date, time and venue TBC

All-Ireland Hurling Final Galway v Kilkenny in Croke Park on September 6th

Golf Society:

Captain 2015: Trish Landers President 2015: Kieran Scully

The society’s latest outing took place in glorious weather on Thursday last, August 13th where there was a great turnout for the annual outing at the Castlemartyr Resort. The society held the prize-giving night at Power’s Bar in Mount Uniacke where, once again there was a great turnout on the night. Peter Gleeson was the winner on the day with a massive 39pts and the society would like to thank everyone who supported the society outing. Particular thanks once again to Mr Tom Fitzgerald for his generous sponsorship of this outing and for his continuous support for the Golf Society and Killeagh GAA Club. Many thanks also to Power’s Bar for hosting the prize-giving on Saturday night and also for their continuous support of the Golf Society and Killeagh GAA Club. Many thanks to all at the Castlemartyr Resort for all their help with this year’s outing where the facilities and golf course were once again in great condition.[RR]

Club Shop;

The Club shop is open on Saturday mornings from 10.30am to 11.30am. Plan a visit to your club shop where you can choose from a wide selection of sports accessories in your club colours. Replica jerseys (all sizes), shorts, training clothing, etc. are available for all ages. Please support your club by purchasing from the club shop.[AJ]


Hurling/Football Fixtures and Results;

East Cork U21HC ‘A’ Final Killeagh-Ita’s v Fr O’Neills, date, time and venue TBC

East Cork U21HC ‘A’ SF Killeagh-Ita’s 1-12 Midleton 0-13 played in Shanagarry

Cork Central Minor HC Killeagh-Ita’s 1-06 Douglas 0-17 played in The Mardyke on Tuesday Aug 11th

Douglas end Killeagh/Ita's Championship dreams

The Mardyke was the venue for our Minors last match of the Premier 1 Minor Championship 2015. Unfortunately success eluded us on Tuesday night at the quarter final stage. Killeagh/Ita’s drew first blood with a well struck 65 in the 7th minute from Killian. However 7 unanswered points from Douglas highlighted their intent that they wanted a place in the semi-final. We responded with a goal in the 22nd minute when a free taken by Killian hit the post and rebounded into the path of Andrew Leahy who

slotted the ball into the back of the net. The two teams traded points until the half and at the interval the score read Douglas 0-09 Killeagh/Ita's 1-03.

Once play resumed, we were first to score again with Andrew scoring a point from play however Douglas were very quick to respond with 3 points scored in quick succession. We had a mountain to climb and our burden got heavier when Jack O 'Rourke was sent for an early shower on a second yellow. Great credit is due to the boys who played on with great heart and determination however it proved impossible for Killeagh/Ita's to score and defend with the numerical disadvantage. At the full time whistle Douglas were victorious on a score line of 0-17 to 1-06.

Team: D Cusack, P Delaney, J O'Rourke, K Cantillon, K Murphy (0-01), D O Brien, C Coughlan, C Deane, S Desmond, K Kelly Budds, A Leahy (1-01), J Merkshuve, D Ogbebor (0-01), A Walsh, K Treacy (0-03), Subs: P Leahy for P Delaney