Aghada GAA Notes

04 August, 2015

Premier 2 Minor Hurling Championship Round 3.

Thursday 30th July in Cobh.

Aghada 1-16 Bishopstown 0-8.

Our minors treated us to another great night of entertainment with a great team performance in Cobh against Bishopstown.From the start they meant business with an all out attack on Bishopstowns defence. We had five points on the board before Bishopstown got their first score. Scores came from John Looney . Jordan Tynan two each and Kevin O Hanlon one.We had two goal attempts saved by Bishopstown keeper who had a fine game .Luke O Connell who started inplace of injured kalen O Donoghue was superb and maybe should have had a penalty But for some reason we invited Bishopstown to play and they got the next five points .Our defenders MarkHealy Aaron Buller Marcus Leahy. Matthew Leahy Edward Leahy and Matthew Kidney.had to work very hard to get their grip on the match at this stage . John Looney got the last three points of the first half to make the half time score Aghada 0-8 Bishopstown 0-6.

After the break we were first out of the traps with Daniel Creedon getting the first point .The midfield pairing of Jack McDonnell and Jordan Tynan started to dominate . Charlie Terry at centre forward winning the air battles distributed the ball very well. The rest of the forwards took Bishopstown defence apart Aaron Berry Kevin O Hanlon Daniel Creedon combined very well .Rest of the second half points came from Jack McDonnell. John Looney Daniel Creedon and Kevin o Hanlon before Jordan Tynan Man of the Match got our goal. Ciaran O Shea in goals solid as ever. Craig Hogan made his championship debut when he replaced Aaron Berry and fitted in very well. We will see more of him . Next up is Midleton in Round 4 in Killeagh on Thursday 12th August 7pm,

Team : Ciaran O Shea. Marcus Leahy. Mark Healy, Aaron Butler, Matthew Leahy . Edward Leahy, Matthew Kidney. Jordan Tynan (1-2) Jack McDonnell (0-2).Daniel Creedon (0-2)Charlie Terry, Luke O Connell. Kevin O Hanlon (0-2) Aaron Berry , John Looney (0-7).

Subs Craig Hogan. Declan Foley, Mark McCarthy, Conor Cotter, Dara Murphy,Kyle O Shea.

Aghada Minor Hurling Win.

Well done to the Aghada Minor hurling team and their mentors in the comprehensive win over Bishopstown in the Minor Championship clash in Cobh on Thursday evening. They now go onto meeting Midleton in the next round.
Please support Aghada Minor Footballers who play Nemo Rangers in UCC. on Wednesday.
Cúl Camp Success:

The week of Aghada GAA/Kelloggs Cúl camp, Rostellan Pitches were turned into a Fun Fields for one hundred and thirty five Boys/Girls aged between 5 and 13. New friends were made, new skills were developed and most importantly each child had great fun in a safe environment. We are very grateful to all our coaches for their excellent understanding and ways in which they displayed their skill with each and every child. Our four head coaches for the week were: Hannah Looney, Emma Farmer, Aaron Stafford and Micheal Leahy. Our Junior Coaches were Sinead O' Driscoll, John Looney , Jack Mc Donnell, Ciaran O'Shea, Christine Moran, Charlie Terry, Luke O' Connell, Aaron Berry, Edward Leahy, Amanda Bennett and Grainne O' Shea. A special word of thanks to Gill Berry and Vera Terry who co-ordinated this years camp, Mary O' Shea for providing first aid to those who received minor cuts and bruises, Tom Foley who was in charge of car park duty and loud speaker, Finoula Murphy Clean-up Co-ordinator and Nodhlag Cotter who came to the rescue as assistant PRO for week due to missing camera!!! A big thank you also to the many juvenile that volunteered, and were a great assistance to the many coaches. Each and every parent that supervised break time while the coaches were having a needy cuppa, we very much appreciate of your great support. Thanks to our East Cork Cork Hurling star Bill Cooper who took time out to pay us a visit, sign autograghs and present trophies. We hope he wears his new Aghada GAA socks with pride in Youghal!! We were als delighted to get a visit from Noel Crowley Cork County Co-ordinator of Cúl Camp and Richard Murphy Cork Rep. on Croke Park involvment in Cul Camp observations/recommendations planners. Both were very impressed with our great facilities which are to the benifit to our young/and the not so young that avail of these amenities. Keep up the great clean up programme set in place by Conor & Martin but acted upon by you the supporters and friends of Aghada GAA Club.

Next Sunday Aghada GAA hosts Senior Hurling Clash with Youghal V Sars. Aghada Juvenile Club have decided to gather a little profit from *THE SHOP* (soft drinks, teas,cake, sweets, treats Lotto etc). Please SUPPORT


Aghada v Blarney U16A League


Aghada played Blarney in Rostellan on Wednesday 29th July. The pitch in Rostellan was in perfect condition . On the night the appointed referee was unable to fulfill the fixture and with prior agreement with Blarneys, Cathal McAllister stepped forward to help us out. We like to thank Cathal for standing in at short notice. It was a terrific game of camogie over the hour with both teams taking some fabulous scores. Blarney on the night were the better team with a number of Cork players contributing to their scoring. Aghada mentors were very pleased with the game as we only had 1 girl on the age and with 3 girls to return from holidays to the panel. The final score on the night Blarney 6-04 to Aghada 3-06.


 Team : K Terry, G O Keeffe, C Bennett, K Stafford, S Walsh, L McAllister(0-2), S Leahy(0-2), E Boylan, A Casey, C Walsh(3-02), A Rose, R O Callaghan, T O Keeffe, S Geary, C Stafford, M Stafford, M Leahy, M Culligan.


Aghada v Fr O'Neills U15A League


Aghada played their final Imokilly U15A league game against Fr O' Neills in Rostellan on Friday 31st July. Both teams were qualified for the semi final stage of the competition and the game was to see who would top the group. On the night Fr O Neills were short a number of players due to  holidays. Aghada played some great hurling and were the better team on the night. Final score Aghada 5-10 to Fr O'Neill 0-2.


 Team: R O'Callaghan, M Stafford , A Rose, L McAllister (1-02), S Walsh, K Stafford , E Boylan (0-06),S Leahy (1-01),M Leahy ,C Walsh (3-01),K Terry, A Casey, S Geary, C Stafford , T O'Keeffe, B Wall, M Culligan