Castlelyons GAA Notes

16 June, 2015

Hurling Challenge Win

PI Hurling

Castlelyons  5-17  Ring  2-16

We played a challenge match against Ring of Waterford in Ring last Sunday morning. A dry bright morning led to excellent pitch conditions which in turn resulted in a very good match with some great scores scored by both sides. We started with a changed team, as some of the squad members were missing , and teams were level after 15 mins. Good play between backs and forwards resulted in 2 goals in the last quarter to leave us leading at half time on a score of 2-08 to 1-08. We dominated play in the second half and this led to us scoring 3 goals to run out convincing winners on a score of 5-17 to 2-16 after a very good 60 mins of hurling.

Team : S O Sullivan, B Carroll, C Barry, D Sexton, J O Leary (0-01), T Carroll (0-01), C O Neill, A O Sullivan (0-03), R Feeney, A O Regan (0-01), R Bransfield (0-01), S Moroney (0-02), A Fenton (1-03), T McCarthy (2-00), M Spillane (1-05  4f).

Subs B O Donovan (1-00), D Kenny.

J A Hurling Championship

Bride Rovers and St Catherines play the 1 st round of the East Cork championship in Castlelyons on Sun 21th @ 3.30 pm. This being a local derby we expect a large attendance so we appeal to all members to please make themselves available to act as stewards on the day.

Best Wishes

Best wishes to Anthony Spillane and Jack Barry who are on the Cork U21 panel for the Munster Championship match against Waterford on Wednesday 17th.


JB Hurling challenge V Watergrasshill in Castlelyons on Tue 16th @ 8.15
PI Hurling Challenge V Milford in Castlelyons on Fri 19th @ 8.00 pm.
JA Hurling Championship Bride Rovers V St Catherines on Sun 21 @ 3.30 pm.
JB Hurling Championship V Ballinacurra on Sat 27th in Killeagh @ 7.00 pm.

Lotto Results for    15/06/2015

The numbers drawn were           03, 10, 17, 30 .

 There was no winner

The jackpot was    €2600

The following won  €20

Ollie O Brien  (OOB)
Liz O Brien  (OOB)
Gerry Murphy  (MOS)
Thomasina Hegarty  (TH)
Colm Dorgan  (MD)
Annette Conran  (PO)
Catherine O Sullivan  (Macs)
Elaine Murphy  (MM)

Next draw will take place in  Community Centre on Monday 22th @ 9.30 pm.

Club Main Sponsor : South Coast Logistics