Ballinacurra News

07 August, 2009

The Junior hurlers contested the semi-final of the County B championship on Thursday night in Blarney against the Muskerry representatives Kilmichael. After some passages of superb play going forward particularly in the first half the men from the village emerged victorious on a scoreline of 4-16 to 1-16. This was a night for guys to step up to the plate and show what they were made of and they did just that. Brian Sigerson, Scott Richards and Kevin O'Brien were in superb form and tore into the Kilmichael defence right from the off. Kilmichael were determined to hold on to the village but try as they might they had no answer to the Ballinacurra running game. Brian Sigerson helped himself to 2-02 in the first half, one of the goals a brilliant overhead flick into the bottom corner. Then Kevin O'Brien rounded a defender out on the right and tore across the goal mouth to plant the ball in the far corner. Kilmichael responded with a few scores of their own but they were mainly feeding on scraps offered up by the Ballinacurra defence giving away some needless frees. However with Mossie Stack in great form around the middle of the park and Trevor Costigan getting through mountains of work in support the ball into the forwards was just what they wanted and they made it pay big time. Scott Richards was scoring points for fun and with Damien Daly & Denis McCarthy running at the defence there were scores aplenty. Kilmichael somehow though were hanging on to our coat tails and at half time the score was 3-12 to 1-13 in favour of the village.
In the second half the battle was really on with the chance of playing in a County final up for grabs. It was a much tighter affair in the second half with Kilmichael determined to exert more pressure on the Ballinacurra defence but marshalled superbly by Trevor Richards the defence repelled everything that was thrown at them and limited the opposition to just 3 scores in the second half. There was no quarter given or asked for in the second period but with a place in the final within our grasp we were not going to relinquish this opportunity easily. Try as they might Kilmichael could not breach the Ballinacurra defences and the game ended with Ballinacurra reaching their first County final since 1927. Congratulations to everyone connected to the club, players, mentors, officers and supporters old and new as we now look forward to a final with Randal Og from the Carbery Division next Saturday 15th August in Pairc Ui Rinn.
TEAM: M.O'Sullivan, T. O'Meara, T. Richards, S. Kane, D. Fitzmaurice, I. Cahill, K. O'Callaghan, T. Costigan, M. Stack (4pts), D.McCarthy (1goal) S. Richards (8pts) D. Daly, K. O'Brien (1-01), B. Sigerson (2-03), S. O'Brien. SUBS: K. Harty P.Twomey, A. Creedon, R. Keohane, M.O'Meara, T. Finnegan, T. Connolly.