Midleton Hurling & Football Notes

11 May, 2015

Senior Hurling Championship

Our hurlers play Killeagh in the first round of the Senior Hurling Championship next Sunday afternoon in Castlemartyr @ 3.30pm.

The Club Executive would like to wish the team management and players the very best of luck in this game.

Junior Hurling

Last Tuesday evening our Junior 2 hurlers played hosts to Sars at St Colmans Community College. In the first half with the aid of a very strong breeze we played very well and led at the break. Our lead however was’nt sufficient and Sars came very much into the game and finished deserving winners by 4-17 v 2-13.

Training this Monday @ 7pm and our next game is this coming Thursday 14th v Carrigtwohill at home @ 7.30pm. Team: Christopher Dunlea, Pat Stack, Eoin Ferriter, Jerome Curtin, Brendan Ferriter, Billy O’Shea, Colm Leahy, Liam Clohessy, Joe Collins, Mark O’Keeffe , Josh Deady Niall Walsh, Willie O’Brien, Keith Ryan & Patrick Dunlea. Subs David Hogan, Oisin Cotter, Ian Cooney, Sean Corcoran, Paul Barry, Brian Fitzgerald, Byran Rossiter & Paul O’Brien.

Minor Hurling

Our minor hurlers had a very good win in the Premier 2 Hurling League away to Glen Rovers recently by 3-17 to 0-17 and last Friday evening in their first Non Exam League game they defeated Eire Og at home by 0-21 v 1-09.

Panel: Liam Franklin, James O Brien, Cathal Gunning, Kevin Mulcahy, Jordan Roche, Eoin Mitchell, Sean O Meara, Garan Manley, Ryan O Regan, Eoin Maloney, Conor O Neill, Mark Crotty, Padraig O Brien, Christian Daly, Shane O Brien & David Mulcahy.


Monday 11th Fe14 Premier Hurling Championship v Shandrum in Mallow @ 7.15pm

Thursday 14th Junior 2 Hurling League v Carrigtwohill at home @ 7.30pm

Friday 15th Non Exam Minor Hurling League v Bishopstown at home @ 7pm

Sunday 17th Senior Hurling Championship v Killeagh in Castlemartyr @ 3.30pm

Golf Outings

Last Wednesday the GAA Society’s Captain’s Tom Mintern’s prize took place at East Cork Golf Club with a Shotgun start at 5pm, there was a fine turnout for it.

The overall winner was Cian Mc Carthy with a great score of 45pts.

Category 1: 1st Liam Walsh, 2nd Don MacFarlane, 3rd Gerry McCarthy

Category 2: 1st Coleman Quirke, 2nd Mick Crotty, 3rd Liam Williams

Category 3: 1st Tim Kennedy, 2nd Tom O Halloran, 3rd Michael Swayne

Front 9 Tom Mintern, Back 9 Paudie O Keeffe & Visitor Liam Murphy

Fe 12 Camogie v Nemo