Russell Rovers notes

14 April, 2015

Russell Rovers  2-9   Ballinacurra  0-5

Our second string hurling team opened their account in Division 3 of the JHL with a comfortable win over old rivals Ballinacurra in Shanagarry last Friday evening.
Both teams lined out without several first choice players which probably affected Ballinacurra a little more than Rovers but nonetheless both sides served up a decent and sporting hour’s hurling.  The game was delayed by 20 minutes due to the non-appearance of the appointed referee until Daniel Moynihan agreed to step into the breach and did an excellent job with the whistle.

            Alan Cott opened the scoring with a well-taken point in the 3rd minute which was followed by further points from Patrick Crowley and a Joe O’Flynn 65. In the 12th minute Crowley collected the sliotar out on the right and moving closer to goal, he unleashed a bullet of a shot into the far corner which almost tore the rigging off the back stanchion of the Ballinacurra goal. Kieran Ivers added a point a minute later before wing-back Aidan Beausang took off on a solo run up-field and fired over an excellent point from the right wing. Surprisingly, we failed to score again in the remaining 16 minutes of the half. The Village took the bare look off the scoreboard with three pointed frees in the second quarter to leave the half-time score at 1-5 to 0-3

            On the resumption of play Eoin McGrath shot over a fine point with Shane Fleming and substitute Philip White increasing our tally to 1-8.  In the 17th minute Pa Crowley pounced for his second goal when he first-timed a ground shot to the net which put Rovers firmly in control of the game. Kieran Ivers completed our scoring with his second point in the 25th minute with Ballinacurra adding two to their tally, leaving Rovers with a 10 points margin at the final whistle.
            While custodian Chris Scanlon was never seriously tested, he dealt capably with everything that came his way with Shane Casey, Anthony Archer, Brian Crowley and the Whelehan brothers also putting in an excellent hour’s work.
            Team: Chris Scanlon; James Moynihan, Shane Casey, David Whelehan; Aidan Beausang, Anthony Archer, Seamus Kearney; Brian Crowley, Joseph O’Flynn; Brian Whelehan, Shane Fleming, Eoin McGrath; Kieran Ivers, Patrick Crowley, Alan Cott.
            Subs: Philip White, Brendan Kearney, Donal Fitzgerald.

           JHL Div 3: Away to Erins Own next Friday, 17th April at 7 pm.
           JFL Div 2: At home to Castlemartyr on Tuesday, 21st April at 7.15 pm.
           P2 MHC: St Colmans versus Carrigtwohill in Rostellan on Wed, 16th at 6.45 pm.
           The JBFC draw was made last Sunday evening with Rovers receiving a bye into the quarter-final versus Glenville. Date, time and venue to be confirmed.

            The Club wishes to extend condolences to former Rovers player Oliver Steele, Whitegate on the recent death of his father, Patrick Steele, Ladysbridge. R.I.P.