Erin's Own Cruise to Victory

05 August, 2009

Erins Own 2-16 Killeagh 0-4

Erins Own had an emphatic victory over Killeagh in the quarter final replay of the East Cork Championship in Ballymacoda last night. Few would have imagined such a turn around in two days but Erins Own were simply splendid throughout the field on this occasion. On a beautiful evening and a perfect pitch Killeagh were first off the mark and were two points to the good before forcing a wonderful save from Kieran Murphy in the Erins Own goal. This was as good as it got for Killeagh and that save fired the Caherlag lads into action and once Mark Collins opened their account with a free and followed it with two excellent points from play Erins Own were on their way. The Erins Own defence were magnificent as a unit but Tony Hickey and Dáire Dennehy in particular were outstanding and Killeagh were held scoreless for the remainder of the half. Erins Own midfield duo of Ronan Ahern and Mark Collins dominated the midfield exchanges which provided a plentiful supply of ball to the forward line. Cathal O Mahony scored a fine point from sideline midway through the half and this was followed by a goal from Dermot Hurley after a fine save by the Killeagh keeper from Seán Crowley. Erins Own led at the break on a score of 1-9 to 0-2.

Erins Own continued their dominance into the second half and Killeagh could again only manage two points in this half while Erins Own added a further 1-7 to their tally. Mark Collins finished the game with ten points scoring seven excellent points from frees. Seán Crowley also capped a fine performance with a goal in the second half and we now await the winners of the Carrigtwohill/Castlemartyr match for our semi final opponents..

Team; Kieran Post Murphy, Paul Fenton, Dáire Dennehy, Denis Mulcahy, Niall Scanlon, Tony Hickey, Ian O Mahony, Ronan Aherne(0-1) Mark Collins(0-10), Andrew Power, Patrick Walsh, , Cathal O Mahony(0-1), Martin Buckley(0-1), Seán Crowley(1-2), Dermot Hurley(1-1). Subs Used; John O Sullivan, Kevin Collins, Damien Collins, Niall Fuohy.