Castlelyons GAA Notes

01 April, 2015

Castlelyons 0-06  Fr O Neills 0-09

Our foray to the ranks of Junior A Football commenced last Sunday with a First Round meeting with Fr. O’Neills in Dungourney.  Fr. O’Neills played with a very stiff breeze in the opening half and events  were proceeding to plan for us as we trailed by just four points to two after twenty minutes, our opening points coming courtesy of a free from Ronan Bransfield and a well taken effort from play from Alan Fenton. As Fr. O’Neill’s added two more points before the break, a four points deficit while playing with the elements for the second half did not look insurmountable.
Unfortunately, our second half performance was not to the same level as that of the first. While the deficit was reduced to three point on a few occasions in the second half, despite scoring from placed balls on four more occasions, we could not bridge the four point gap which Fr. O’Neills had earlier created. We now play Carrig na bhFear in the second round with the game due to be played on weekend of 11th April.
Team; S. Hickey, C Lawlor, C O’Leary, L Moroney, E Maye, C Barry, T Carroll, S Moroney, D Lawlor, R Bransfield (0-2 f), A Fenton (0-4 , 0-3 f), A O’Sullivan, A O’Regan, R Fenton, S O’Sullivan.


Membership for the 2015 season is now open .Fees of  € 50 for Adults and € 20 for Students and OAP can be paid to  Donal O Leary (treasurer) , Denis Fenton (PRO) or any club officer. We would encourage people to pay their membership on or before 31th March as this is the cut off date for the issuing of membership cards from GAA head office in Croke Park.


Well done to Anthony Spillane who started for Cork senior hurlers in their league quarter final victory over Wexford last Sunday.


I H League V Watergrasshill on Sat 4th in Watergrasshill @ 6.00 pm.

Lotto Results for   30/03/2015

The numbers drawn were           05, 12, 15, 17.

 There was no winner

The jackpot was    €4800

The following won  €20

B Milward  (BM)
D Carroll  (CC)
P Lawlor  (CL)
J O Sullivan  (MOS)
J O Leary  (DOL)
P McCarthy  (PC)
B McCarthy  (DH)
B O Sullivan  (MOS)

Next draw will take place in  Community Center on Tuesday 7th @ 9.30 pm.

Club Main Sponsor : South Coast Logistics