Castlemartyr GAA Notes 08/12/14 Main Sponsor: Pat Shortts Bar

08 December, 2014

Munster Junior Hurling Final

Castlemartyr 0-14 Modeligo 5-12

Castlemartyr travelled to Mallow hoping to become Munster Champions but ultimately had to bow to a superior Modeligo team on the day. Castlemartyr will be disappointed by the fact that they hurled nowhere no where near their potential, but having said that Modeligo were full value for their win after raising 5 green flags.

Most of the damage was done in the first half with Modeligo taking full advantage of the wind. At half time we found ourselves 3 goals down on a score of 0-06 to 3-06 with a mountain to climb. Barry Lawton was our scorer in chief from place balls in the first half.

Castlemartyr came out fighting in the second half with the first 4 scores to give us hope that a comeback might be on the cards, but any momentum we were building was quickly halted by another Modeligo goal 8 minutes into the half. From here until the finish, the result was never in doubt as Modeligo added another goal on 25 minutes.

So a disappointing end to the year but overall we can only look back on 2014 and reflect on one of the best years in the clubs history with a fantastic county title win and the prospect of intermediate hurling in 2015.

Great credit must go to whole squad of players who gave us so many great days out. Also, Cha O’Neill and his backroom team of Christy Connery, Dave Fleming, Carey Joyce and Bill Moran put in a huge effort throughout the year.

Team: E. McGovern, O. Smiddy, R. O’Donovan, E. Roynane, D. O Tuama, B. Smiddy, A. Bowens, Briain O Tuama, Barra O Tuama (c), D. McAuliffe, Brian Lawton, J. Stack, C. Haines, M. O’Neill, Barry Lawton.

Subs Used: E. Clifford, C. Bowen, P. Horgan, J. Lawton, J. Smiddy.

Scorers: Barry Lawton 0-10 (0-8 fs, 0-1 65); Brian Lawton, Briain O Tuama, C. Bowens and E. Clifford 0-1 each.

Club Development Draw November results

€1000: Margaret Roche, Mogeely Rd

€500: Kathleen Coleman, Garrenjames Killeagh

€400: Diane Broderick, Ballintotis

€300: Danny Murphy, c/o Paula McAuliffe

€100: Damien McAuliffe

€100: Martin Leahy, Dungourney

€100: Anthony O'Brien c/o Jim Costin

€100: Winnie O'Doherty, The Height

€100: Sean Murphy, Loughaderra

Tickets still available for the December draw priced at €25.