Castlelyons GAA

22 July, 2009

Castlelyons G.A.A. notes.

MainSponsor South CoastTransport

Good Win in Senior Hurling League

Lotto Now Thirteen Thousand Euro

Senior Hurling League

Castlelyons 0-18 v Ballinhassig 0-14

Castlelyons went to Ballinhassig to play the last game of the senior League on Sunday.Pitch and weather conditions were excellent.Castlelyons played against a fairly strong breeze in the first half and our goalie had to contend with a strong evening sun also in the first half.

Ballinhassig went three points ahead before Darren Tobin opened the scoring with a point in the seventh minute.Points from Declan Sexton and Eamonn Fitzgerald in the fourteenth and sixteenth minutes levelled the sides.Eamonn put Castlelyons into the lead with a point from a placed ball two minutes later.Castlelyons held the lead through to half-time, but it was never more than one or two points.The score at half time was 0-9 to 0-7.

Castlelyons continued to stay in front right through the third quarter.However they still failed to increase the lead beyond three points.During the twenty second minute Leo Sexton scored two great long range points, from near the sideline fifty five metres out to increase the lead to four points.

By the end of normal time Ballinhassig had pulled the lead back to two points again, and again Leo put the ball over the bar in the thirty first minute.Ciarán McGann got the last point of the game.

Overall the team played well.The backs were excellent.Brian Sheehan in goals kept a clean sheet.However, with ten wides and nine frees awarded against them, there are areas needing improvement before we they face Blarney again in the replay of the relegation semi final.


Brian Sheehan, Barry O’Connell, Barry Fitzgerald, Martin F Dorgan, Peter Murphy, Ciarán McGann, Mark O’Leary, Finan Waters, Declan Sexton, Darran Tobin, Eamonn Fitzgerald (0-5),Leo Sexton(0-2), Brian Carroll, Declan Wallace, Colman O’Connell,

Subs used: Stephen O’Connor, Ronan Fenton

Subs: Shane O’Sullivan, Alan O’Regan, Keith Kearney,

Junior ‘B’ Hurling Championship

Castlelyons 1-12 v Sarsfields 3-7

The Castlelyons Junior team played Sarsfields in the first round of the Junior ‘B’ Hurling championship at home on Tuesday 14thJuly.In spite of wet weather in the days before the game the pitch was in very good condition.

Castlelyons opened the scoring with a point from Brian Fitzgerald in the second minute and Darran Tobin pointed a free a minute later.However Sarsfields took the lead in the fifth with a goal.Two points during the sixth minute and Castlelyons were in the lead again.

A point in the seventh minute to Sars levelled the sides.Three minutes later Castlelyons concede a goal and they were now in front where they stayed for the rest of the game.

At half time Sars led by three points, 0-8 to 2-5.In the second half Castlelyons worked hard to break the hold Sars had on the game.They did enough to maintain the advantage they brought from the first period.A third goal midway through the second period was as it turned out the seal on their victory.

The junior team had a good season under the guidance of Kieran McGann, Padraig O’Brien and Danny Carroll.Paul Donnellan also helped out with the physical training.Well done to all concerned.

Team: Shane Hickey,Padraig O’Regan, Brendan Hoare, Martin F Dorgan, Keith Kearney, Kieran Barrett, Brian Carroll,Darran Tobin(0-8),Stephen O’Connor, Brian O’Donovan, Colman O’Connell, Brian Fitzgerald(0-2), Ml J Dorgan,Ronan Fenton, (1-0), Jack O’Leary(0-2)

Subs used:Pa O’Leary, Colm Dorgan.

Subs:Shane O’Sullivan, Larry Murphy, Conor McNulty, Stephen Barry, Alan O’Regan, Eoin O’Donovan, Kieran Higgins, Adrian Higgins, Cillian Smith, Daire Conran, William Daly, Colman O’Shea.


Thursday 23rdJuly at 7.30pm SHL v Erin’s Own at home

Lotto Jackpot at €13,000

The Lotto numbers drawn this week were 17 18, 24 and 27.There was no winner.Next weeks draw will be on Monday evening at the Community Centre, Castlelyons.The jackpot will be €13 000.

The following won €20 each:

1.Emily Sexton Curraghdermot, c/o E Sexton

2.Jack Barry, Coole, c/o D Barry

3.Liz O’Regan, Glanmire, c/o Darragh Lawlor

4.Tom Carroll, Coolagown, c/o M Carroll

5.Kieran Barrett, kill-St-Anne, c/o J Barrett

6.Susan Barrett, Kill-St-Anne, c/o J Barrett

7.Ina,O’Brien, Corrin, c/o J McGann

8.Billy O’Sullivan, Ballyhamshire, c/o B O’Sullivan