Lisgoold GAA Club News

19 November, 2014

Sciath na Scoil Finals

F7 Final

Leamlara NS 4-0 (12)
Vicarstown 1-4 (7)
Pairc Ui chaoimh
11th November 2014

Leamlara finally broke their duck in this ground and captured the title in a very heavy, muddy pitch. They had a great start when Mark Hegarty came close with two goal chances, however it was the blarney side that were more fluent and accurate in their attack and landed two points after 11 minutes. Leamlara raised their first green flag with Piaras Fitzpatrick getting the major. A second followed shortly afterwards when Jamie Browne with a wonderful catch duly dispatched his shot into the net. Vicarstown replied with two more points to leave it 2-0 to 0-4. At the resumption we saw more defending and some great teamwork. In truth it would be hard to say who stood out as everyone did their fair share. From goalkeeper Diarmuid Fitzpatrick (who made some super saves in the encounter), to defenders Dan Power & Dara Kiniry, to the energetic Kalyssa Manning and Mark Hegarty in the forwards whom played terrific.

In fact, it was the latter that started the second half with a bang when he got his major and Leamlara's third. However Vicarstown and more importantly their no.8 Stepehen Linehan refused to yield and it was he who got their goal and with eight minutes to go, the game was back in the melting pot. It was a ding-dong battle with the play going up and down the pitch. The clincher came with five minutes to go, as Browne got his second and Leamlara's fourth to seal the deal. The whistle sounded and Leamlara had won, its great credit that should go to their parents and teachers and we like to say well done lads. They played like a team and won as a team. Whilst it would be easy to point out Mark & Jamie and keeper Diarmuid, the stand out player for Leamlara (in one's view) was Dara Kiniry. Her willingness and braveness to go for the breaking ball and clearing at every opportunity with tigerish defending, earned the accolade of player of the match. So it’s well done Leamlara, a good day for all.

Panel: Diarmuid Fitzpatrick, Noel O’Driscoll, Dan Power, Dara Keniry, Jamie Browne, Sean Ahern, Piaras Fitzpatrick, Mark Hegarty, Dylan O’Shea, Diarmuid Clifford, Kalyssa Manning, Sean Murphy, Mary Ellen O’Donnell, Alan Whelan, Dave Williams.

DGF8 Final

Ballincurrig NS 0-0 (0)
Gheil Pheig 3-4 (13)
Pairc Ui Chaoimh
17th November 2014

It wasn’t the girls day last Monday, (final was postponed last Thursday week due the weather) as they succumbed to a very strong Gheil Pheig side. In truth there are days when things go against you where of its luck, injuries, decisions but in this case it was the better team than won out on this occasion. After the dizzy heights of reigning victorious against Glenville from last year’s final, this is a bit of a bitter pill to swallow. However true to their traditions the girls never, never gave in and fought to the bitter end. They fought for every ball every kick-out and unfortunately had to bow down to what was more a superior outfit. Credit must go to Aoife Brosnan, Roisin McSweeney & Aine Hallahan who kept the flag flying, but it wasn’t to be. However well done girls you got to a final once again and you have done the whole parish, school and your families very, very proud.

Panel: Leann O’Mahony, Sarah Rohan, Clodagh Moyihan, Laura Murphy, Claire McGivern, Roisin McSweeney, Heather Queally, Claire de Barra, Rhiona Sheehan, Aoife Brosnan, Claire McCarthy, Emma Woulfe, Aine Hallahan, Clara O’Keeffe, Rachel Moynihan.

DF8 Final

Ballincurrig NS 0-4 (4)
Bartlemy NS 1-6 (9)
Pairc Ui Chaoimh
17th November 2014

It was left to the Ballincurrig Boys to salvage the day however they also succumbed to a very good Bartlemy side. In truth, they could and probably should have raised a few green flags but luck was ultimately against them. Oisin and Cormac were unlucky not have made their shots hit the net. Bartlemy built up a strong 1-5 to 0-0 lead at the short whistle (with a good goal from Evan Murphy) and were looking good they could have been out of sight if it wasn’t for a fantastic save by Shane Byrne. Credit must go to Ballincurrig who like the girls never gave in and fought to the end. Diarmuid Healy, Izaak Walsh, Jonathan Kelleher upped their game and tried to reel the game in their favour. However Murphy’s goal was the difference and Bartlemy held out for a great win. It was no shame for the lads who did their upmost and like the girls did themsleves, the parish, the school and their parents proud. Heads up lads your day will come.

Panel: Shane Byrne, Izaak Walsh, Cormac Hallahan, Fionn McSweeney, Daniel Buckley, Owen Chandler, Mark O’Keeffe, Oisin Shanahan, Jamie O’Sullivan, Thomas Murphy, Johnathan Kelleher, Diarmuid Healy, Nathan Buckley, Jamie Neff, Christian Howard, Billy O’Brien, Michael Roe, jay Nagle, Jake Wright, Callum O’Leary, Eoin Holden, Tadhg O’Connor.

Dean Ryan Cup

Our congratulations go to our own Liam O'Shea and Midleton CBS on winning the Dean Ryan Cup last friday. Well done all.

AGM 2014

Annual General Meeting 2014 has been called for the 17th of December 2014 in the community hall at 8pm. All welcome to attend.

Victory Social 2014

Lisgoold Gaa & Lisgoold/Leamlara Ladies Football Club are holding an adult victory function. It will be held at Midleton park hotel on Saturday the 24th of January at 7.30pm. It will be a four course meal with Music by Crystal Swing and DJ Liam Ruane to keep it going to the small wee hours. There is a late bar also and it will Cost: €30 per person. No doubt it will be a very enjoyable night. To contact for tickets will contact the following. 

Norma Woods (087) 9057236, Hilary O Shea (087) 6285955 Catherine O' Connell (087) 6112692, Owen Hegarty (086) 8949966, 
Jer O'Connell (087) 6724913

Canon O’Brien

Cork GAA was plunged into mourning due to the death of the legendary Coach Michael ‘Canon’ O’Brien at the weekend. He was a legendary figure amongst cork GAA circles and was famed for his successful coaching of some outstanding teams in the most prestige competitions. Like in the Fitzgibbion cup (UCC), Harty Cup (Farranferris), Cork senior club (Blackrock) and of course the Cork seniors in 1984 and 1990. The innishannon native was great patron of our games and will remembered forever and a day. Ar dheis dé go raibh a anam dílis.

Charity Walk

Charity walk on the 22nd of November at 2pm from Britway to the Thatch bar in aid of Marymount, MS Ireland, Fermoy & Mercy Hospital Children ward. It is for excellent causes, for more info contact Lisa at (086) 2610993

Lotto Draw 11th November

Lotto numbers: 9,29,31,32. No winner. Jackpot - €14,000.
Lotto Plus draw: 10, 14,26,30. Kathleen Mulcahy wins €80 - congarts!!

Date for the Diary – Christmas Lotto draw is on the 20th of December in the Thatch Bar at 10pm.

Our Local lotto is of great importance to this club, in terms of financing club activates. To support this, you can purchase tickets in The Thatch Bar, Smarts Bar, Woods' Shop, Woods' Bar, Carrigtwohill Post Office, or Tattans Bar. Your support will be greatly appreciated.

Lotto Committee

Ciarán Cronin (087) 9005806
Moss Mulcahy (087) 2123628
Patrick O’Mahony (086) 3306510

County Board Lotto Draw

Anyone interested in joining the draw please contact either Patrick O’Mahony (086) 3006510 or Liam Walsh (087) 6953312 if interested.

Social Media

Our website is up and running- please check it out at . Lisgoold GAA is on Facebook, so why not add us as your "friend" and use this useful tool to keep up to date with all matters relating to our Club, and join the 600 others who have already added their support to the Club through this medium. Also you can find us on twitter as well, so you can just post us a tweet!!


Anyone interested in entering the clubtext service please contact Moss 087-2123628. This would be for fixtures, results, news, lotto results etc.