Killeagh GAA Club News

20 October, 2014


NEWSLETTER FOR W/C Oct 20th 2014 .
Club Lotto Results;
There was no winner of this week's jackpot and the jackpot for our next draw will be €13000.
Numbers drawn were 2, 7, 8 and 30.
Lucky dip winners were Ray Rochford, Ben Jennings, Ronnie O’Riordan and Haulie Collins.
Thanks to everyone who supports our weekly lotto draw. Lotto draw takes place in clubhouse every Tuesday night.
Wear the Green
We continue to ask the community to put up the Green and White in support of all our teams. Our U21’s had a fantastic result when they added the Cork U21 title to their collection this season with a superb display and an emphatic win against Clonakilty. Our U16’s added a league title to claim a league/champ double this season with a brilliant win against Shandrum. Our minor hurlers are through to a league final where the final details have yet to be decided. Our Jun ’B’ footballers are in a play-off tie with Carrig Na bhFearr in Div 3 of the JFL on Tuesday October 21st at 8.15pm in Killeagh where the winners go forward to a league final. Please support all our teams. Be seen and wear the Green.
Club Shop;
The Club shop is open on Saturday mornings from 10.30am to 11.30am. Plan a visit to your club shop where you can choose from a wide selection of sports accessories in your club colours. Replica jerseys (all sizes), shorts, training clothing, etc. are available for all ages Please support your club by purchasing from the club shop.

Golf Society:
Next outing on the society’s calendar is the Presidents Prize outing on October 25th. Presented by Mr. Kieran Scully, the outing will be held at Lee Valley Golf Club. Further details on this and all the society’s events are available, as always, from Ray Rochford on 0872330054.
U21 ‘B’ Final Killeagh-Ita’s 6-14 Clonakilty 0-07 played in Pairc Ui Rinn
U16 League Final Killeagh-Ita’s 3-16 Shandrum 3-11 played in Mallow
Juvenile News:
U12 Parish Leagues Hurling & Football
Results from October 19th
Hurling semi-finals and final took place last Sunday on a dry but extremely windy morning.  Each and every one of the boys that took part showed a huge determination to win.  Proving how important these parish leagues are to them.  Without doubt the semi-finals and the finals were the most competitive and exciting games to date.  Great credit should be given to these lads on the performances they have given throughout the leagues.
David Collins red team beat Padraig Landers green team by 1 goal and 2 points to 1 goal.
Paul Kent’s orange team beat Ciaran O’Rourke’s blue team by 6 goals and 6 points to 1 goal.
“A” Final
David Collins red team beat Paul Kent’s orange team by 6 goals and 1 point to 4 goals and 4 points.
“B” Final
Padraig Landers green team beat Ciaran O’ Rourke’s blue team by 4 goals and 6 points to 2 goals and 2 point.
Paul Kent (Hurling Captain) Ciaran Leahy Remy Bernard Tony Mc Carthy David Scully Colm Treacy David Buttimer David Buckley Danny Fitzgerald
Ciaran O Rourke (Hurling Captain) Brian Murphy Ben Jennings Adam Danaher Paudie Mackey Colm Landers Jack Flanagan Daniel Walsh Tommy Morrison.
Padraig Landers (Hurling Captain) Ben O Connor Ryan Farquahar Darragh Coleman Callum Magner Ben Fogarty Aaron Fitzgibbon Ciaran Brennan Ben Budds Darragh O Leary Evan Lane
David Collins (Hurling Captain) Robbie Treacy Christian Coughlan Darragh Buckley Colin Desmond Jamie Fogarty Eoin Brenner Rory Lynch Rory Motherway Conor Meade

U10 Blitz
Under extreme windy conditions our U10 hurlers turned out in force for this blitz on Saturday morning. The team panel was Rory Mackey, Colum Leahy, Rory Motherway, Dylan McCarthy, David Buckley, Pearce Geary, Daniel Griffin, Diarmuid Buckley, Ben Fogarty, Ben Budds, Daniel Walsh, Ciaran Brennan, Conor Meade, Sean O'Riordan and Jack O'Connor. The lads played and won all of their three matches under the watchful eyes of Richie Brennan and Declan Fogarty. They played Aghada and Watergrasshill. Bill Cooper was on hand throughout the morning and willingly stood for photographs with the teams. He also handed out their medals at the end of the tournament. Well done to all.

Thanks to our Chairman, Colman Motherway and all the parents who helped him at each blitz this year in Pairc Ui Chinneide. They were wonderful help by supplying and serving refreshments to all teams and supporters who visited our grounds this year.

Thanks to all the trainers of the U10 hurling and football team.  Great work was done by them during the year with these lads.



Premier 2 Hurling League Final: Killeagh-Ita’s 3-16, Shandrum 3-11
Our Under 16 team completed the championship / league double by defeating a gallant, skilful and combative Shandrum side in the League final played in Mallow on Sunday afternoon. Both teams gave this their best shot and in the end Jamie Clifford’s two second-half goals were the difference as they gave our team a cushion which ensured we maintained our lead when Shandrum came with a late run to threaten us in the last ten minutes. Killian Treacy was the outstanding player in the first half, scoring 1-5, 1-3 of which was from play, including two brilliant points from the right-hand touchline. This helped us into a six-point lead at half-time – 1-10 to 0-7. Andrew Leahy was his usual efficient self in front of the posts, with two points in each half. Early substitute Dylan Hogan (Luke Fogarty had to leave injured after a few minutes) and Kevin Murphy were very secure at the back, while David Ogbebor and Eoin Fitzgibbon worked well on the wings.

The critical period of the second half was between the 9th and 12th minutes. Shandrum scored a fine goal to reduce the deficit to five points (1-12 to 0-7) after 39 minutes, but Jamie Clifford replied with two goals in two minutes, and these, along with Andrew’s third and fourth points, left us twelve ahead (3-14 to 1-8) with thirteen minutes left, and seemingly uncatchable. But in hurling any lead is precarious, and Shandrum finished like a train, scoring 2-3 to just two points in reply, and but for two exceptional saves by Aaron Walsh (one in each half), we’d have been one point down rather than five up at the finish. As it was, we survived, so captain Christy Coughlan received the cup from Central Board Chairman Jim Forbes.

So well done boys, a very successful season comes to a close with two cups and much to be proud of. Well done to the management team of Ger Fitzgibbon, Dick Walsh, Tomas Treacy, Eddie Hayes and Paudie Kearney for a year of unquestionable progress. The future looks bright!
Team: Aaron Walsh, Luke Fogarty, Jack O’Rourke, Jamie Landers, Christy Coughlan, Kevin Murphy (0-3f), Cathal Deane (0-1), Emmet Barron, Keane Kelly Budds, Eoin Fitzgibbon (0-1), Killian Treacy (1-7, 0-4f), Sean Walsh, David Ogbebor, Andrew Leahy (0-4), Shane Kearney. Subs: Dylan Hogan, Jamie Clifford (2-0), Padraig Walsh, Fionn McDonnell, Richie Long, Barry Motherway.