Russell Rovers GAA Club News

18 September, 2014

Russell Rovers GAA Club News
East Cork Junior B  Football Championship
Russell Rovers  1-14   Aghada  0-2
As the score-line suggests, this was a comprehensive win for Rovers in the opening round of the Championship against Aghada’s third string team, played at Rostellan on Friday evening last.
Rovers played a more direct style of football than in their previous league outing with some nice attacking play, good linking movements and stout defensive work when needed. Apart from the opening point from John Paul Ivers in the first minute and another from Jack McGrath in the 23rd minute, all the Rovers scores came from play. In the opening half, points from play from Ivers, McGrath as well as Ian Smiddy, Paul Lane, Daniel O’Brien and James Kennefick saw us comfortably in the lead by the break with just one point from the home side (0-8 to 0-1).
Defender and contender for man of the match Eoin McGrath came upfield for a score in the 32nd minute and six minutes later Jack McGrath was on hand to flick to the net after John Paul Ivers had ripped open the Aghada defence with a sizzling run before delivering a well placed ball to the edge of the square. Two more points from Ivers as well as a brace from substitute Michael Furlong, who had replaced the injured Brian Whelehan just before half time, saw us go into an unassailable lead with ten minutes to go.
Rovers introduced substitutes Joseph O’Flynn, James Walsh, Alan Cott and Chris Scanlon in the closing stages but it was the hard working Chris Ruddy who completed the Rovers scoring in the 25th minute as the Aghada challenge petered out.
While this was a well-earned victory, errant shooting, especially in the first half when at least eight scoring chances went a-begging, has to be addressed by the team, with tougher opposition to come.
Team: Shane Casey; Aidan Beausang, David Whelehan, Ricky Walsh; Eoin McGrath, Anthony Archer, James Kennefick; John Paul Ivers, Paul Lane; Brian Whelehan, Colman Quinlan, Chris Ruddy; Ian Smiddy, Jack McGrath, Daniel O’Brien. Substitutes: Michael Furlong, Alan Cott, Joseph O’Flynn, James Walsh, Chris Scanlon, James Ahern.
The Final of the Junior C Hurling Championship versus Bride Rovers has been fixed for Saturday, 20th Sept at 5 pm. Venue to be confirmed.
The players have put in a great effort to get to this stage of the championship and we would ask you to come along and support them in the Final.