Castlelyons GAA Club News

10 June, 2014

Football Championship this Weekend.


JBF Championship.

Castlelyons play Doneraile this Friday night in Castletownroche in Round 4 of the JBF Championship. Having put together a good performance in Round 1, where we defeated Kilmeen, the team are looking forward to this match and hope to continue their run in this championship. Please come along and support the team in Castletownroche on Friday 13th @ 7.30 pm.

JB Hurling League.

Castlelyons 3-20  Dungourney 1-11.

Castlelyons emerged as very comfortable victors in this rather one-sided league encounter played in Castlelyons on Saturday night last. While the panel was substantially reduced due to the non-availability of the Leaving Certificate participants, nonetheless this was a very competent display from a team who built on a good first half performance highlighted by a fine goal from Darragh Lawlor and a number of well taken points from play courtesy of Darren Tobin, David Kenny, Eoin Maye, Alan O’Regan and Michael John Dorgan. The half-time score of 1-09 to 0-05 was to be significantly embellished early in the second half with goals from Timmy McCarthy and Ronan Fenton.

Overall a very positive performance from  a team who hurled with plenty of conviction and confidence on the night.


Team. E Barry, N McAuliffe, M Murphy, L Moroney, K Kenny, C O’Leary, D Varner, E Maye (0-1), D Tobin (0-8, 0-4 frees), A O’Regan (0-3), D Lawlor (1-4), R Fenton(1-1), D Kenny(0-1), T McCarthy(1-1), MJ Dorgan(0-1).




JBFC  V Doneraile @ 7.30 pm in Castletownroche on Fri 13th June.

IFC   Cloyne V Kildorrery on Wed 18th @ 7.30 pm in Castlelyons.

Lotto Results for   03/06/2014.

The numbers drawn were         2, 22, 27, 30.

There was no winner

The jackpot was  € 7600

Following won  € 20

John Healy Jnr  (JH)
Chris & Will Daly  (CD)
Ml Creed  (PO)
Mary Martin  (JM)
Thomasina Hegarty  (TH)
James O'Neill  (FW)
Tom Draper  (Farriers)
Paul Hickey  (DH)

Lotto Results for   09/06/2014.

The numbers drawn were         17,22,24,29.

There was no winner

The jackpot was  € 7800

Following won  € 20

Mike Spillane  (MS)
Elaine Murphy  (MM)
Catherine Moroney  (JM)
Brian Carey  (JOS)
Peg Fitzgerald  (DB)
Killian Smith  (MD)
Willie Scannell  (FW)
Brendan Collins  (DH)

Next draw takes place on Monday 16th June in Abbey Tavern @ 9.30pm.

Club Main Sponsor  :  South Coast Logistics