Erin's Own News

28 June, 2009

Erins Own Notes

Our Junior Hurlers completed a very successful week for the Club when they defeated Midleton in the first round of the Championship on Saturday evening in Cobh. With a starting line up that included six minors but backboned by very experienced players in Kieran “post” Murphy, Paul Fenton, Ronan Aherne Tony Hickey, Diarmuid O Flynn, Martin Buckley and Michael Mulcahy this was a very impressive result. It was a tough encounter with tensions high in some exchanges. Aided by a goal in either half by Martin Buckley and Michael Mulcahy and 2 huge frees by the “Post” we led from start to finish and are safely through to the third round on a score of 2-11 to 0-12.

Team; Kieran “Post” Murphy(0-2), Paul Fenton, Jack Sheehan, Kevin Collins, Cormac Dooley, Tony Hickey, Ian O Mahony, John O Sullivan, Ronan Aherne, Mark Collins(0-7), Diarmuid O Flynn(0-2), Michael Mulcahy(1-0), Andrew Power, Martin Buckley(1-0), Niall Scanlon.

The winning week started with our Minors winning the 12 a side Non Exam League Final against Glen Rovers on a scoreline of 4-14 to 0-7. This was a very comfortable win indeed and the players were presented with a specially commissioned 125 Anniversary Polo Shirt by Peter Hogan Vice Chairman of the Minor Board on the night.

Team; Paul Ryan, Kevin Collins, Niall Fuohy, Cormac Dooley, Jack Sheehan(1-0),Christopher Geary, Niall Scanlon, Cian O Connor(0-2), Andrew Power(1-2), Cathal O Mahony(0-3), Mark Collins(0-6), Calvin O Callaghan(0-1). Subs ; Cian O Callaghan(2-0), Kieran Moynihan, Brendan Monahan, Cormac O Connor, David Twomey

The Senior Hurlers were next into action against Imokilly in round three of the Championship. We were lucky to come away with victory on this occasion with a very indifferent performance. Imokilly could have been well ahead at half time had they taken their chances but a tally of 11 wides cost them in the end. With three minutes remaining we were a point down but a superb gaol by Alan Bowen sealed the victory and next up are St Finbarrs in the quarter final. A special mention also to Stephen Cronin who was outstanding in defence over the hour and also contributed 2 invaluable points in the 2ndhalf when we found it difficult to put scores on the board.

Team; Shay Bowen, Brian McHugh, Patrick Fitzgerald, Shane Murphy, Stephen Cronin(0-2), Peter Kelly capt, Ronan O Carroll, Seán Kellly(0-2), Killian Murphy, Cian O Connor, Kieran Murphy(0-1), Alan Bowen(1-0), Maurice O Carroll(0-1), Mark O Connor, Eoghan Murphy(0-8 , 4f,.2 ‘65). Subs; Brian Clifford (0-1) for R O Carroll, Ian Quinlan for M O Connor and Michael Murphy for M O Carroll.

We also have to congratulate our Fé 12 ladies football team on winning the East Cork C League Final with a very impressive score against Inch Rovers in Killeagh last Friday. Well done to all involved with the team.