Castlelyons GAA Club News

19 December, 2013

Successful Annual General Meeting


Annual General Meeting


The Castlelyons GAA AGM was held before a very large attendance on Sun
8th Dec.and resulted in some very meaningful debate on several
important issues.


Secretary Donal Barry read minutes of last years AGM and gave a
thorough account of all the happenings of the club during the past
year both on and off the pitch.


Treasurer  Con Lawlor presented his report on the financial position
of the club in which he outlined all the Income and Expenses for the
year.  The cost of running the club continue to increase on a yearly
basis and he again outlined the importance of the club lotto as the
main source of income. He encouraged everyone to buy a weekly ticket
and if possible sell a book to friends and neighbors.


Chairman Anthony O Regan in his address gave a comprehensive report of
all the club activities during the past year. He thanked all players,
managers ,coaches, physios and first aid people for the huge effort
put in all year since the year began in Jan 2013


Con Lawlor as manager John Boylan as coach and Ger McCarthy as
selector were thanked for their work with the Prem. Intermediate team
.  This team gave some fantastic performances during the year which
resulted in a very unlucky defeat in the PI Hurling county final and
we all look forward  to next years campaign.


Seamus Sexton,John Healy, Ml O Donovan and were thanked for their work
with Junior B panel. This team put on some great displays and were
congratulated on and thanked for their efforts.


Mick Spillane, Maurice Caroll, Dave Hegarty and Dave Hoare looked
after the U21 hurling and football  for the year.

Anthony thanked management and players for their dedication and effort
throughout the year.

Joe Hartnett looked after the Minor panel. This group of players, even
though short on numbers, put up some fantastic performances and
management and players were thanked for their effort.

Kieran McGann ,Ml Barrett and Mick Spillane took charge of the Junior
B football team. This team did very well considering the number of
players committing to play football. Next year it is hoped to get more
players to commit to playing football on a regular basis. Management
and players were thanked for their effort throughout the year.

During the past year the club had representatives on Cork  panels.
This was Colm Spillane ,Colm Barry,Anthony Spillane and Shane Moroney.
The club congratulate them and wish them well for next year.

The Chairman thanked Asumta Mangan and the people of Fas for all their
work in the pitch during the year and he also acknowledged the work of
Bridie Milward in the bar and community centre.

South Coast Transport came on board again this year as the clubs main
sponsor for which the club are extremely grateful. The club held a
fund raising draw during August and September which proved to be very
successful. Donal O Leary and his committee did Trojan work on this
project and they and the sponsors that came on board were thanked.
Other private sponsors came on board during the year and these were
also thanked.

The weekly Lotto continues to be the main source of funding for all
three clubs. Ml Hegarty and the Lotto committee are to be thanked for
the work they do on a weekly basis.

The chairman congratulated the Juvenile Club and the Comogie Club on
their successes during the year . Well done to all officers and
mentors on the excellent job that they are doing.

Anthony wished Kieran McGann best of luck in his role as Irish and
Cultural Officer of Cork County Board

In conclusion chairman thanked County Board and East Cork Board
delegates, Insurance reps , Knocknard race volunteers , County Board
Draw Coordinator ,   and his fellow officers Con Lawlor and Donal
Barry for all their work and dedication throughout the year.


Election of Officers for 2014

Life president ;               Tom Joe O'Riordan

President        ;             Jer Barry

Vice Presidents ;              Fr Coleman ,Dave Hegarty ,Martin Dorgan
,Seamus Sexton ,Donal O'Connell

Chairperson  ;                John Healy

Vice Chairman;              Maurice Carroll

Hon. Secretary;                To be filled

Ass. Secretary ;               Donal Barry

Hon Treasurer  ;              Donal O Leary

PRO              ;              Denis Fenton

Ass. PRO       ;              C McGann

Insurance Officer  ;       Sean Kenny

East Cork Board rep ;     Seamus Sexton

Co Board Reps ;           Kieran McGann , John Barrett

Votes of Sympathy

The club extends sympathy to the Sheehan family Coolagown and the
Barry family Kill St Anne on their recent bereavements.

Lotto Results for 09/12/2013

The numbers drawn were       01,14 ,17 ,22.  No Winner

Following won €20

L Sexton  (SS)
J Flynn  (Farriers)
LNAP hegarty  (HH)
S O Brien  (MH)
M Carroll  (MC)
D Leigh  (NF)
P Sheehan  (Farriers)
M Leigh  (NF)


The jackpot was € 2800     Next draw 16th Dec in Farriers Bar

Club Main Sponsor  :  South Coast Logistics.